Zombie Jungle
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.7/5 (12 votes cast)

Zombie Jungle

An American student visiting Santo Domingo infuriates his girlfriend’s powerful and evil father, causing a workers rebellion that can only be won by magic and the help of zombies. (Updated: November 8, 2012)

21 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Chidi says
    June 5, 2015, 8:53 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    It’s hard to say what’s at stake for the American student here. Also, the “American student” could be more specific – “a naive college girl”, “an over zealous medical student” etc.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of nichie04
    nichie04 says
    September 6, 2013, 11:20 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I like the Zombie and magic combo, original. Good luck with this one, has a lot of potential.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. allymay says
    December 28, 2012, 12:36 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    The logline is a bit wordy, but the concept is original and interesting.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. gramon55 says
    November 12, 2012, 9:35 am

    The logline is doing what I wanted. At least, one producer has downloaded the script. That would not have happened without a good logline. Thanks to all of you who helped me improve it. I know that downloading the script doesn’t mean they will like it or use it. However, the logline’s function is just that. So far, this logline has worked!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. November 9, 2012, 5:26 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds like the zombies would assist the protagonists instead of being the antagonists. Interesting twist, I would love to read the screenplay!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • gramon55 says
      November 12, 2012, 8:56 am

      Brandon, you are right. Zombies are controlled by magic. Therefore, those who control magic, control zombies. Amaya, the goddess of the jungle (based on Yamaya, the Goddess of the ocean) teaches the herothe magic that is inside him. The movie blends my own beliefs, with my experiences and my fantasies. I have submitted the script to this site. I don’t know if t5hat makes it available for reding, but I can email you a copy if you want to read it.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  6. gramon55 says
    November 9, 2012, 2:25 pm

    No matter how you say it, there will always be someone that wants you to give a detail that is not there. Some people want you to explain who the workers are, or why there is a revolution, while others do not want you to mention zombies, or magic. I understand how we all want to be pleased, but for a person writing a sentence to sell a script, it’s just not possible to please everyone. If a person doesn’t like vampires or magic, then this is not for them, just as a romantic comedy is not for people who do not like comedy or romance.
    I wish people who review loglines realized that. I am always willing to correct elements that are correctable. However the logline is for a movie that has already been written, and the zombies and the magic are already there. What I hope reviewers will tell me is how to improve the logline for this particular movie. I think that is what we all hope when we submit loglines.
    Some times, I am puzzled by some comments. I find my logline to be very succinct. How could I streamline it more? Specific suggestions are always very welcome. Some people ask questions that I think are answered in the synopsis. The big question is how to get producers to want to read the synopsis, so they get an answer to their questions.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. rickemg says
    November 9, 2012, 8:59 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Another Zombie script. You’re going to need a intriguing succinct logline to get your target audience to watch. Workers rebellion? What workers, who are they? With that said, I do like the concept and think that you may have a potential winner on your hands.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. joyhorror says
    November 8, 2012, 10:44 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Nicely crafted logline.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of freakything
    November 6, 2012, 11:21 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I would watch it!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Profile photo of nkarcher
    nkarcher says
    November 5, 2012, 3:34 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Thanks for your note!!!

    Although not my favorite genre, your logline certainly hooked me. My only hesitation is whether or not you have pushed the envelope quite far enough. There are so many zombie movies around that you have to come up with something entirely different to get noticed. You are close, but probably should let your imagine run riot for an hour to see if something even more outrageous develops.

    I am a bit uneasy about “revolution” unless you really do mean revolution – a national revolt involving large segments of society -in which case, leave it. If it is something less global, then you need a different word, such as disaster or conflagration or catastrophe (not quite the right words yet, but you get the idea.)

    Ward mentioned,that “pisses off” is not a wise choice of phrase for a logline. There will be differences of opinion here, but I agree. However, “upsets” is, in my opinion much too weak a word. How about “infuriates” or “inflames?”

    Also, you can tighten the ending this way. Instead of saying “causing a revolution that he and his friends can only win with magic …” you should say, “causing a revolution that can only be won by magic ….” A little tidier.

    Having said all that, it’s a good concept, with great potential and the basis on an excellent logline. I wish you well!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • gramon55 says
      November 7, 2012, 10:11 am

      Thanks. I rewrote with your suggestions. I have just moved to the top of inktip. It now says:
      “An American student visiting Santo Domingo infuriates his girlfriend’s powerful and evil father, causing a workers rebellion that can only be won by magic and the help of zombies.”

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • admin says
        November 7, 2012, 2:18 pm

        We can post your updated logline. Let us know via email or message us.

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Profile photo of bsouls4
    bsouls4 says
    November 4, 2012, 1:33 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Definitely intriguing, but you lost me when magic was mentioned. Anytime I hear magic, I automatically think kids movie not horror/thriller. It does sound like an interesting read though.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • gramon55 says
      November 4, 2012, 4:52 pm

      bsouls4, thanks for the review. Magic has nothing to do with the rabbit in the hat. In the Dominican Republic and Haiti, magic is part of very old religions. Some of that magic is known as Vodoo. However, there is much more than Vodoo to magic. Anybody hwho has walked through a jungle, specially at night knows that the jungle is alive. It has a power that is much easier to feel than to describe. That power is integrated in people’s beliefs and their religion. I try to capture that power in my script through a character called Amaya.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  12. mikeyz says
    November 2, 2012, 8:48 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounded real intriguing until it got to the zombie part … then I kind of lost interest.
    Doesn’t mean others won’t find it appealing because both the hook and the storyline sound pretty cool! Best of luck to you!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Profile photo of normanwilliam
    November 2, 2012, 1:13 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Anything to do with Zombies has me there!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  14. wardparry says
    November 1, 2012, 8:50 pm

    This might interest you if z is your favourite letter

    http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/lists/the-10-best-zombie-movies-20121012/zombieland-2009-19691231

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • gramon55 says
      November 1, 2012, 9:28 pm

      Thanks, I checked it out. I actually love vampires more than zombies, but zombies are great. Thanks for the advice, I changed the words Pissed off to usets in Inktip. I couldn’t find a way to edit the logline here.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  15. gramon55 says
    November 1, 2012, 2:10 pm

    Thanks, I’ll change that.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  16. wardparry says
    November 1, 2012, 1:35 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Total fun! Zombies and relationship problems. Might want to ditch “pisses of” and use something else, such as angers or upsets. WP

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.