The Sunflowers Sessions
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.4/5 (10 votes cast)

The Sunflowers Sessions

A lone frustrated saxophonist compelled to help his best pal, a sarcastic famous pianist suffering from a terminal disease. A wandering woman appears in the road, becoming the light in the darkness. Our lone man finds the love, recovers the music, but also he must payback a hidden deal.

12 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. scripted says
    July 3, 2013, 3:57 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    This is longer than a logline, but very okay story.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. eventure says
    March 4, 2013, 3:52 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Just a little too long but it gave me the idea and the story sounds good.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. February 27, 2013, 8:32 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I see where you’re getting at with this. If you tweak it up gramatically and presentation wise, this should be excellent.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. December 15, 2012, 1:49 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    You are getting closer to the proper length with your unofficial updates above.

    I am far too fond of puns, or at least of using terminology that fits the material, so I would consider conveying the same information but put a more musical spin on the description.

    Your current logline:
    A lone frustrated sax player recovers the music, when he goes to help his best pal, a famous pianist suffering a terminal disease, and love when he meets a wandering woman.

    My suggestions:
    A sax player can’t seem to hit the right notes as his pianist and right-hand man battles a terminal disease–but a new love in his life may get him back in tune.

    Good luck! Knowing a little about the era would be helpful too!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. December 6, 2012, 1:12 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I’d rework the logline. Story has potential but the logline needs to be reworked and smoothed out.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. October 22, 2012, 3:33 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Your logline is a little too wordy, but I think it seals the deal. This is one art film I would see.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. rickemg says
    October 17, 2012, 11:24 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Nice. Almost a synopsis rather than a logline. I do like the bones of the story and think the concept needs to be re-introduced with a twist. Good job Luis.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of southwriter
      October 19, 2012, 12:44 am

      Thanks …I’m trying to write a shorter one… like:

      A lone frustrated sax player recovers the music, when he goes to help his bets pal, a famous pianist suffering a terminal disease, and love when he meets a wandering woman.

      Better?

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  8. Profile photo of PaulAndy
    PaulAndy says
    October 16, 2012, 3:49 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Any story that promises such an emotional journey of rediscovery is compelling and right up my ally. I would however suggest that you find ways to trim it down as much as possible. Also drop the “hidden goal.” Producers hate that. Then ask yourself, why the word “loan”? “Frustrated?” Your logline is about a person rediscovering themselves so isn’t there a stronger word to describe them? What about “Lost?” Remember your logline is designed to promise a journey not solve it.

    When a lost saxophonist reconnects with an old friend dying from a terminal disease, he is offered one final attempt at life, love, music and ultimately redemption.

    Don’t know your story but hopefully this helps.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of chalkyc
    chalkyc says
    October 14, 2012, 7:15 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    A very long logline… It sounds interesting but a rework is in order perhaps as you have constructed a long, clunky logline that I had to read a few times.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of southwriter
      October 14, 2012, 12:52 pm

      You are right, it happens because I wrote the script first, without a log line…WRONG… maybe this is the 100th try for a log line for my loved completed script…..

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  10. Profile photo of TheElite09
    TheElite09 says
    October 14, 2012, 1:03 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds interesting. I would like to read this.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.