The Legend of McCoy Mountain More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.5/5 (6 votes cast)

The Legend of McCoy Mountain

Mary McCoy and her boyfriend head up McCoy Mountain to film the ghost of Civil War abolitionist Johnny Ranger McCoy for Mary’s Sundance documentary, and they end up finding out firsthand if Johnny’s Gold 45 Revolver really does fire lightning in the hands of heroes willing to give that ‘last, full-measure of devotion.’

6 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of Hydrofilm
    Hydrofilm says
    December 5, 2014, 9:19 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Loving this, real cinematic writing with enough suspense to keep me reading. I disagree that the start takes a long time, it just takes its own time. There is a very strange and unique atmosphere to this script and it deserves time and concentration, rather than speed reading which I will admit to doing with other scripts. There are in-industry gags and a real sense of the love of film. Thank you.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of djfoley
    djfoley says
    May 7, 2012, 10:10 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Pretty good, I only read the first ten pages but it reads quite nicely. My only nitpick here is that I know it’s fun to make allusions to different films that are already made, and it seems like you have a very clear vision of what you want to see on screen but the problem here is that it’s not your vision that counts. It’s the director’s. The time to have your characters say their dialogue the way you want them to and move around their space according to your specifications is in a novel not a screenplay, especially not a spec such as this. Don’t get me wrong, this is an incredible script and very well written, but a director wants to shoot their own vision, not yours. And I feel like a few minor alterations would increase your appeal to producers out to find the next great historical masterpiece.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of axelrodm1
    axelrodm1 says
    May 5, 2012, 6:17 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A decent screenplay, some scenes run a bit long and some dialogue is too on the nose, but it’s good and has promise.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. rickemg says
    April 6, 2012, 11:14 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I enjoyed this script. It was a very good read and I can see it on the silver screen. I found a couple typo’s. It did seem a little long at the beginning, the set up and a third of the way, finally we see the cameraman. I did like the references and dialogue of past movies, it brought a famailiar feel to the script. I can see why they won awards at festivals.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of jetski
    jetski says
    March 20, 2012, 6:28 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Interesting and odd.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of king
    king says
    March 15, 2012, 1:55 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    It was a long intro and it as unclear the purpose of what Mary was doing until. Did you hear that・ It was very long with lots of obscure music reference which slows down the plot. Simple errors like it展・and 展ary・instead of Marry and the use of — and ….. spacing and trying to use capitals and Italics also deteracts from my personal reading experience, things become unclear. At 129 pages it could easily come in at 110 which would be more appealing. There is a lot of time spent trying to clarify your vision into our heads but it doesn’t help the story. Even the ・esclamation marks at the start are there for no apparent reason. The camera pans on the mountain range to show the acoustics. To show the acoustics? I’m not sure that description is totally clear. I知 sorry to point out these small things. I know how easy it is to miss things myself.

    Some other obscure or not so well worded phrasing, sorry. Silence. The birds have stopped・ I wasn’t aware they were ever chirping. It’s a Ghost Town? I think you should be careful taking liberties with grammar. 吐reaky–somebody keepin》he legend alive・ The characters all have that same tendency to use Hillbilly poor grammar which makes them all sound like the one person. I would clean up the grammar and let readers make their own interpretations about spoken dialect. At one point Cameraman corrects Mary yet he speaks exactly the same broken English. And Scottish Dude and Slash. As a result they all have lengthy monologues at different points which are very long monologues. Page 40 cameraman whole page monologue, Mary the first 12 pages, Slash 64-65 and Mary McCoy speaks non stop through page 26 to page 33 yet they all make the same types of speeches. From page 70 through till the end is almost one continuous shot. You might want to throw in a few CUT TO: 壮 just to break it up whilst reading it. After 49 pages we see the camera man. That痴 a long time to be watching a shaky hand held camera.

    After the first 14 pages Mary says let me finish? That was sought of how I was feeling by then. But then she says 展here are the pines?・Why does she suddenly say this even though they are trying to get this finished after at that point 12 pages? And THE COWBOY CARRIES THE CAMERA. Why would he do that? He can’t turn it off?
    The first 18 pages is almost like a book the lead actress would need to use a prompter which doesn’t make for great acting. And Cameraman says at one point that 吐ilms are 80% visual and only 20% auditory・but it’s basically a verbal story so you might think about taking that out. The camera shows someone standing outside the car. It’s dark — is that a bag over their head? Just tell me what I saw, did I see the flash of what looks like a man with a bag on his head or not.

    Nativity Scene-I知 sure this is correct, just that I am not American and thus unfamiliar with what it is.
    鼎ould beauty have more commerce than with intelligence・ ? They all speak with the same almost intellectual tongue which is very distracting. Yet then they speak like this and Mary doesn’t want to play no more・ It’s not really so deep a concept that the dialogue couldn’t be cut right back and amp up the suspense. Maybe another night of spookiness as it all basically happens in a 2 hour stretch.

    The references to LeadBelly? I’m sorry I’m not familiar and alas it isn’t well known around the world so its impact is a negative instead of positive. And H8? Just dumb it down. Like this other music. faint.・Other faint music・ A correct sentence looks much better. Here is another example. Marry walks from one wall to another, listening・ What was she listening for? The birds? I Couldn’t follow the turn off. Huh? Turn it off section either sorry.
    There is a character name Mary McCoy with (a beat) below it but no speech.
    I couldn’t understand when the name稚 Scottish dudes Mary and Scottish Dudes Girl and Slash痴 Mary No ages were given and their identities weren’t clear. And Cameraman changes his name to Cameraman McCoy* and Johnny Ranger McCoy on page 122, the names were hard to follow who was doing what. He goes back to cameraman and then back to Cameraman McCoy again a few times. Unless there are two cameraman? Johny also changes from Johnny Ranger to Johnny Ranger McCoy.

    Wow, that took me a long time. I hope it was some use for you Doc. Keep up the hard work.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.