The Alien Diaries
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.5/5 (14 votes cast)

The Alien Diaries

While appraising old and rare books at a restored colonial plantation, a book collector stumbles across a series of diaries that chronicle an alien visitation in 1781.

15 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of logline12
    logline12 says
    December 21, 2015, 2:27 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I love the concept it could be very marketable as a Science Fiction film!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of raydavenport
    January 1, 2015, 4:17 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    This sounds like it could be a good story!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. belw says
    November 13, 2013, 6:35 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I think the storyline is clear and this sounds terrific.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of astern
    astern says
    September 2, 2013, 1:53 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Yes, something different, Alien diaries. Can the book collector interpret the alien’s intend, thoughts, passions, distastes? Etc. Or will they predict our planets future? You could go in many different paths instead of the ones we have seen on the big screen already. Good Luck with this one!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of Les-Robertson
    September 1, 2013, 12:34 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Although the logline doesn’t stick to the conventions of protagonist, antagonist, jeopardy etc, just the hook alone is enough to make we want to read the script.

    Nice work – and good luck with this

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. May 15, 2013, 3:50 pm

    I like the premise. You need some stated conflict within the log line.

    See MaxTeasdale’s comments. I agree.

    Good luck. This could be a winner.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. February 17, 2013, 5:37 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Well I read the synopsis already, so I think the story potential is definitely there, and even within this logline, there’s a hint at the collector whom is going to do more than just flirt with the Alien Diary scenario, but perhaps fully engage in it.

    The hook itself isn’t awesome, but it gets the job done to a person like me who’s into different stuff like Aliens.

    My suggestion for making the hook reach out to a broader audience is something along the lines of ….

    A book collector stumbles across a series of diaries that chronicle an alien visitation in 1781, and decides to check it out. Upon doing so….such and such happened..and this and that…and bam!

    You see the first sentence isn’t needed, him appraising older books and stuff. Start it off with him simply stumbling across this series.

    Then we’d wonder how he stumble across it in the first place? Hmmm….

    And second and thirdly, Add the killer second sentence to the logline demonstrating or giving a hint to the conflict, consequences he may face in messing around with this diary. This sentence will either mess up or take the logline to a new level.

    But then again these are just my opinions.

    Good Luck!

    PEACE

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Profile photo of MaxTeasdale
    December 17, 2012, 2:41 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    The story definitely has potential, but what is the main character’s goal? What’s the conflict? Maybe, the main character is living in the late 1700’s when discovers the manuscript, which points to a returning alien race bent on abduction and murder. The main character could be a bookish unlikely hero, who he alone has the power and resources to stop the invasion. Oh, and nobody believes him which puts him at risk of being locked away for good in a insane asylum. Like I said, lots of potential here…:)

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. December 3, 2012, 8:50 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Should be good. Aliens are awesome.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. mikeyz says
    November 23, 2012, 3:12 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    It’s refreshing to see an alien premise brought about through early historical literary artifacts. We tend to see the alien invasion angle typically in a present or futuristic type setting.
    That’s why I’m really drawn to this idea!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. November 16, 2012, 12:08 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    You need to explain it more.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. Profile photo of wordman
    wordman says
    November 15, 2012, 4:19 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Not really sure whose story you are trying to tell. Where’s the conflict for the collector, the antagonist?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Profile photo of nkarcher
    nkarcher says
    November 13, 2012, 4:10 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Good beginning – not quite sure who the antagonist is, what challenges the protagonist has to face or what goals he has to achieve.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  14. Profile photo of normanwilliam
    November 13, 2012, 8:28 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    mmmmmm. I am intrigued where this will go.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  15. wardparry says
    November 12, 2012, 1:52 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Does your narrative focus on the events or the reading of the account? It’s unclear where you’re heading with this right now, but has tons of sex appeal. WP

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.