That’s Who I Am
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.6/5 (7 votes cast)

That’s Who I Am

A coming of age drama about a young closeted male who ventures out on his own after being kicked out of a Christian college, in search for his Identity.  In the process of rebuilding his life he must come to terms with his Identity and make amends with those he alienated and find it in himself to forgive the one that hurt him the most.

8 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of dicksuicide
    September 29, 2015, 12:42 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    school boy gets kicked out blah blah blah

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of ranger2
    ranger2 says
    October 31, 2012, 5:48 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I have to say that I didn’t find this script appealing at all. The lead character of Justin is very unlikable and immature. Sure he comes around in the end, but is still very unlikable. His sprial into the depths of the gay nightlife seemed forced and contrived. The same goes for his relationship with Gilberto. There was a lot of gratitious sex involved that didn’t seem believable. Example is with his boss Ethan, with whom he has a quickie in order to secure the job. How convenient.
    As for Mack, his father. When he finds out that Justin has been expelled just weeks before graduation, his reaction is ridiculous. Any parent would be pissed off and angry. Instead, he’s sort of proud because he got caught in a “compomising position”, assuming it was with a female. “He’s his father’s son” he says to his wife. Way too casual and unbelievable. He
    Justin is supposed to be a smart guy, but he first meets Gilberto, he asks “So you’re from Mexico?” and Gilberto responds, “Puerto Rico.” Justin then replies, “Whatever. Same country.” Either Justin is an idiot or has a terrible sense of humor.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of normanwilliam
    October 23, 2012, 4:57 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This is a spiritual journey well worth the read!!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of Dawna7
    Dawna7 says
    October 17, 2012, 10:09 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I loved this screenplay!…..Wow!……The wirter puts a whole new spin on the “coming-out” / journey toward self-actualization theme and tells a dramttic story with sensistivity, clarity, origniality, both humor and tugs at the heart-strings, with strong story-telling skills. The characters are wonderfully well-defined and brought to life with distiinctive voices in a way that motivates us to care about them and to read on to see how their stories progress and end. Justin and Gilberto are particularly well-defined, and I also especially loved the little brother and Brett characters.

    The writer grabs the viewers attention, immediately, with the scene in the pschiatric hospital, which is quite well-written, and he ties the opening in, nicely, later, with Justin’s manic break and second episode of hospitalization, which also proves a pivitol point in his relationship with Gilberto.

    The structure, here, is excellent and lends itself to a move to the big screen. Scenes are well-delineated, and time is not wasted with long, drawn-out explanations for concepts the vieewer should be able to readily surmise — like skipping the AIDS reveal scene, as a strong example of the writer’s wonderful skills in leaving that which can be left to the imagination and focusing time available for critical scenes. Scenic locations also provide the opportuity for captivating images on-screen — i.e.: the scenes on the beach, at the colllege, and, in Peurto Rico, especially at Phosphorus Bay. No time is wasted , here, as each scene is integral to the overall understanding of the main character’s personality, obstacles, struggle to overcome challenges, and journey to get to know and accept himself, to gain the acceptance of others, to repair important bonds, and to find his place in the world.

    Wonderful work! I hope to read more from this writer and look forward to, hopefully, seeing Justin, Gilberto, and all the other wonderful characters, from the world of “That’s Who I Am” (super weaving of this theme, throughout, by the way), brought to life at the theater. Thanks for a suoer read! Bravo!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of bsouls4
    bsouls4 says
    October 12, 2012, 4:18 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The logline for this script made got me excited to read a great drama. However, the script did not live up to the logline.
    It’s starts off well with a scene in a mental hospital that gets you interested in what happened or what’s going on, but after reading the script, you realize that that opening scene doesn’t really make any sense. The scene doesn’t have much to do with the script and when it is explained in the script, there’s a one page scene and a 5 page scene that takes place at this hospital and the major conversation had in the 5 page scene really could have been done anywhere, it didn’t have to be done in a mental hospital. I don’t know much about the disease the main character has, but it seemed very weird that they would throw him in a mental hospital because he had one freak out.
    What annoyed me the most about the script is how it kept skipping over what could have been major scenes and the reader is left wanting to see those scenes. One of the other reviews said that they liked how the reader has to fill in the blanks and figure out what happened for themselves, which can make a movie great, like in the film “Rabbit Hole”, but this script just seemed to cut the scenes that you would want to see play out. I also didn’t like these scene cuts because it was so easy to figure out what happened that it didn’t add to the interest of the script as I think he writer intended.
    Also, when the end of the script comes, everything just gets wrapped up and no ones angry at each other and everyone’s happy with no problems. Save for what happens to Gilberto of course. It made me feel like everything that happened in the script happened for no reason. The story really starts when the main character, Justin, leaves home while his Mom is crying for him not to leave, but then at the end Justin is like, “oh I thought you wanted me to leave. I thought you kicked me out.” I get that his parents suggested him going to that camp, but it just seems so unrealistic that a person would make such a drastic decision to leave home without even talking about it. Or maybe they did, I don’t know because there was no scene talking about it. This is what I was talking about earlier, the script sets up what could be a great scene when the parents mention the camp, and then cut to Justin leaving home. And how the parents act in the end, it seems that there was no way that Justin should have even thought about leaving home and he just overreacted.
    The dialogue also seemed to be kind of cliche at points. The dialogue at points felt kind of like a 90’s after school special.
    There are good things about the script though. The characters all had their own personality which I think is one of the hardest things to do in a script. They were all easy to distinguish from one another. And there is a good movie in here, you just have to write the scenes that people would want to read, like the parents anti-gay camp talk and the aids confession. And, it wraps up too quickly and nicely. As the logline says, which is a great logline I think, Justin will rebuild his life and make amends. And this all seems to happen in like the last 10-15 pages with not much effort put in by Justin. Like he goes home to make ammends and everything was fine the whole time. I’m sure in real life, going back home after all this would be incredibly hard for a person and a huge internal struggle, but the script didn’t really show me that.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of jjcj3113
    jjcj3113 says
    September 15, 2012, 2:49 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

     

    This is an excellent example of a script that focuses on the journey of the main character. Justin.  The protagonist is clearly defined and pretty much drives every scene.  You see the main character going through clear obstacles and his reaction to them.

     Although the main character may come of a being a little immature, it seems to be appropriate for his age and the circumstance that he goes though.

    You see him changing from scene to scene, act to act, and dealing with major obstacles that shape him as a person.

    The structure is spot on, with a strong opening image, that grabs the reader from page one to want to find out how this character got himself in this situation.  The inciting incident falls on page 10 which is when everything falls apart for him.  Then you see him begin to lose everything that he has worked for and by page 24 when act 2 begins he ventures out on his own to rebuild his life.

    This isn’t your typical coming out story of child telling parents that he is gay.  It’s done in a very different way than what has been seen before.

    It’s interesting how the writer doesn’t spell everything out.  He lets the reader become an active participant in the story by letting them figure out what happens in between scenes.  The writer tells the story in the cut throughout the script.

    We see the character trying to be what he thinks everyone thinks he should be… while in school he is hiding his identity by pretending to be someone that he isn’t.  Then once he leaves home he enters a new world for himself where he changes based on what he thinks is expected of him by the gay community.  Then once he meets the man of his dreams all he wants to do is be what he thinks Gilberto wants him to be. 

    Once Justin seems to get everything he thinks he wants the rug is pulled out from under him and he loses everything.  Then in ACT 3 he is left with no other alternates than to return home and face his family.   Only to find out that his parents in the time that he was gone came to realize that they pushed him away. 

    The last act wraps everything up , not in a perfect bow, but in a very sad and emotional way with Gilberto and then we walk away with the knowledge that the character has grown and is growing. 

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Profile photo of Muse
    Muse says
    September 12, 2012, 12:40 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A well-written, thoughtful look at a man’s struggle to put aside cultural expectations and truly find himself. The characters, dialog and events have a real feel to them …. as if I was reading the story of someone I know. Well done!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.