Tango More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.6/5 (5 votes cast)

Tango

For Lou Syball, old time porn producer, life has reached its nadir. His wife has left him and now the mob is after him for money he owes. He then comes up with possibly his most stupid idea ever: a remake of ‘Last Tango in Paris’.

For Lou Syball, old time porn producer, life has reached its nadir. His wife has left him and now the mob is after him for money he owes. He then comes up with possibly his most stupid idea ever: a remake of ‘Last Tango in Paris’.

8 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of jeffsal
    jeffsal says
    August 11, 2012, 4:07 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Well written and full of wonderful character elements. I was rooting all the way. Lou is well fleshed out and you pulled a nice close for his character. The porn elements were entertaining and handled with consideration and skill. Overall, nice job on the development, although structurally it could be a little tighter. I got a big sense of Boogie Nights, but with a more direct comedic aspect that was less character-driven. I think pushing more on that note would be my biggest suggestion as the characters sometimes feel like cartoon characters without an emotional throughline. I felt at times like I was being lectured in history class, but that was also a redeamable aspect to the read and each character felt a little more connected thay way, despite having totally different angles and goals, etc. It was a refreshing read and you clearly have writing chops. Looking forward to reading more.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of sethm
    sethm says
    August 6, 2012, 12:19 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    You did a terrific job with this script, congratulations.  This is a very entertaining script, develops nicely, and has a few great twist elements to keep us engaged. Your characters seem developed appropriately and the dialogue is very good.

    Great opening.  Nostalgic.  Totally feeling the Boogie alights vibe, except with a very sharp comedic tone.  The stakes are nice and immediate.  Tony and Sal – the notion is funny, mainly because the names are so cliche. Yet Tony is so astute in film. Nice balance.  There are a lot of great things in this script, particularly your treatment of sex and the restraint to make it all feel appropriate.

    On the critical side, there did feel like a number of missed opportunities.  Marylyn felt a bit flat, and with such great dialogue, her character could emerge a bit more perhaps?  The “on the nose” film history can at times be overwhelming, but I understand why it’s there… Just seems all the characters are participating a bit too much. Reread for format and punctuation. It got a little wonky in places.

    Definitely get the Boogie Nights and Meet Shorty vibe from this. 

    Lou is “born again” which is fantastic. It takes the comedic tone into a slightly different direction, which is cool. However, there do again feel like several missed opportunities to punch the scenes. The nice thing is that the scenes are there, and good. You can raise many of them to be excellent.  

    The ending is nice with Mark coming back.
    Good work!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of rkwok
      rkwok says
      August 6, 2012, 3:41 pm

      Thanks for the read and insights. Just found out this one made the semi finals (top 100) of Scriptalooza.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  3. Profile photo of jimmymcdaide
    August 3, 2012, 10:31 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    There’s so much to like about where you’ve gone here, but ultimately felt like a missed opportunity. This is a great theme to tackle and doing so in the light-hearted approach you take felt like a missed opportunity. Obvious comparisons to Boogie Nights, where it differs is Anderson really breaks our hearts with his characterisations ished that initially had us laughing hysterically. I was yearning for a sombre tone in this, a richness to the characters that I didn’t feel was there.
    You’ve got a dynamism and naturalism with dialogue that makes anything possible for you as a writer. The hardest part to writing is to get characters to sound believable when they open their mouths and you accomplish this effortlessly. This ultimately boils down to a preference on the route you’ve taken. Some will like your choice in tone. Others, like me, will wish you had gone down a different route. This is a nice situation to be in as it’s not a wholesale structural change! Thanks for giving me the chance to read.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of rkwok
      rkwok says
      August 3, 2012, 8:26 pm

      Thanks for the read and review. Boogie Nights is a favourite of mine and to be honest, I kind of went the way I did with the script because I didn’t think I could possibly do better than Anderson. One day hopefully I can pick a subject other than porn and give it the Boogie Night treatment.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  4. rickemg says
    August 3, 2012, 9:50 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    For a script about “Porn” I was delighted to see that it was well written. Lots of laughs. I can’t get out of my mind page 88 where Mark gets painted. When Tony beat up the Russian mobsters LMAO. All in all with a few mis-spelled words and other minor details, I think that cleaned up it should get optioned.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. mikeyz says
    July 18, 2012, 10:42 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very clever little script reminded me a lot of Get Shorty with the movie industry (Adult that is) mixed with the mob financing premise. Loved the pathetic, down and out, Lou character as well that gets some redemption in the end. Was almost convinced that Tony was gonna relieve Lou of his debt obligations to him by asking him if he could shoot a sex scene in the movie between Tony and Lou’s daughter Ashley. That would have been a bit twisted to say the least! Dialogue during porn shoot scenes was very funny and reminded me a little of Boogie Nights. Overall, very well done.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of rkwok
      rkwok says
      July 18, 2012, 1:56 pm

      Thanks for review. That would be twisted!
      And yes it is a twst on Get Shorty: I do picture DeVito as the pornographer.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.