Specimen
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.4/5 (28 votes cast)

Specimen

An amnesiac surgeon who wakes up chained to a steel slab must uncover why sinister doctors are performing grisly operations on him.

29 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of qazifabiahoq02
    August 31, 2017, 12:01 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I would definitely watch this movie! Would be gruesome yet scary!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of jeffpier
    jeffpier says
    May 30, 2016, 7:58 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I would like to watch this one

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. March 11, 2016, 10:32 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I think we have a lot in commons.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of nezrik
    nezrik says
    January 21, 2016, 10:28 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    This will be great if it turns out original enough…

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of pdhorse
    pdhorse says
    February 22, 2015, 10:00 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Yikes…I would love to see the outcome…Cheers

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of raydavenport
    January 26, 2015, 9:13 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    this seems to have good potential, I like it, good luck!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Chidi says
    March 28, 2014, 9:40 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Great. High concept. Intriguing. Could be better and create more suspense if you specified the kind of doctors. Allergists would give a different response to Gastroenterologists. And Anortionists would appeal differently to a group of Hakim.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. February 11, 2014, 1:24 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds like a great story…

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of
    says
    July 1, 2013, 10:28 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Very good logline. Did the trick: I’m intrigued. Would totally go on to read the synopses.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. Profile photo of
    says
    April 21, 2013, 7:53 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    This sounds very similar to Saw.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Westule says
    March 24, 2013, 10:27 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    It’s certainly an interesting idea. I wasn’t too enticed by it but there is certainly a number of directions to take this story

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. Doboro says
    January 7, 2013, 10:47 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    High concept indeed. Sounds like the premise to a possible low-budget, high-yield picture. I can imagine it in my head immediately. Nice.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. December 14, 2012, 11:51 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds a little Twilight-Zone-y in a good way, if a little more gruesome.

    I could see one possible twist ending from a mile away (Hell is a real place and he’s there!!!) but there are actually a lot of ways this could go. For that, bravo for potential.

    I think “sinister” doesn’t need to be here… maybe there’s a good reason for what he’s going through, and the doctors aren’t sinister… leave it mysterious…

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  14. December 6, 2012, 1:09 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Seems very similiar to the SAW films in a lot of ways.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  15. Profile photo of nkarcher
    nkarcher says
    November 13, 2012, 5:02 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Not enough originality in the concept – and the scenario is not really believable. Title leaves me confused. In the context of the hospital, it has overtures of a urine bottle. Having said all that, the logline itself is quite good.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  16. Profile photo of melroggins
    melroggins says
    November 3, 2012, 11:14 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    A surgeon suffering with Amnesia? This is poorly conceived idea. Also, your surgeon’s options seem a little limited by the way you have phrased his circumstances. Perhaps, “a surgeon wakes to discover he is the victim of….”

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  17. Profile photo of alan
    alan says
    November 3, 2012, 12:04 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    It sounds interesting and peaks my attention.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  18. October 19, 2012, 4:49 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds like it would be a good movie to check out.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  19. Profile photo of malakas
    malakas says
    September 5, 2012, 11:42 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I see potential in it, and although I’m still a bit in the dark as to what its about, I guess that’s the point. Even from the logline you’re identifying yourself with the protagonist. Its writing a pretty big check, so hopefully your script cashes it. If it does, you would have a winner on your hands!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  20. Profile photo of sethm
    sethm says
    July 21, 2012, 9:11 pm

    I think this is solid. Hope the story isn’t same as the other torture flicks out there.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  21. Profile photo of mistererock
    July 11, 2012, 3:57 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Yeah, it seems like this kind of story has been done a thousand times. And I’ve seen at least a dozen requests from different producers in the past 6 months looking for something just like this. If you can set it in one or two locations, you should have something that is pretty marketable. As far as the logline, maybe drop that word “who” so it reads “An amnesiac surgeon wakes up chained to a steel slab must uncover why sinister doctors are performing grisly operations on him.” It keeps it active. Good job!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  22. Profile photo of
    says
    July 11, 2012, 10:27 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    It sounds interesting, could be a good story just add a little more to pull us in.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. Profile photo of leader
    leader says
    July 10, 2012, 3:11 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Although this scenario has been playing ridiculously many times the logline sounds good.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  24. Profile photo of tserlin
    tserlin says
    June 20, 2012, 4:22 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Hook is interesting. Get a sense for the environment and the “contained” nature.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  25. Profile photo of joshuajax524
    June 15, 2012, 1:03 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Eh. And I say eh because it doesn’t really peak my interest… It seems a bit overkilled.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  26. June 12, 2012, 12:19 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Plausibility of doctors experimenting on a surgeon……experimenting…doesnt hook me. How is he effected?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  27. rickemg says
    June 8, 2012, 1:16 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    The hook has me wanting more info before buying a ticket. A little more to the story would be nice. That way I could talk a friend into going with me.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  28. Profile photo of jusork
    jusork says
    May 27, 2012, 7:54 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I think it’s got a good hook so far and sounds like it could be horrific, but I think it could use more because right now I don’t get much of an idea how much story could be developed around a prisoner being operated on. I’m sure you have a full story, but I’d be sure that something more substantial happens in it. And is finding out why they’re working on him actually his goal as implied? Does the story involve any plan to escape as well?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  29. April 29, 2012, 4:37 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Got a decent hook. Could go places with the story. Not bad :-)

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.