She Was Left Alone
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.2/5 (3 votes cast)

She Was Left Alone

A Siberian Khanty orphan survives in the arctic tundra. Her American sponsors drop her adoption 18,000 miles away. Bela, the only other person who knows the child’s dire situation is compelled to make the arduous journey.

8 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. January 23, 2014, 10:15 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The story and the theme are good but I think there’s a lot of dialogues in this screenplay. I think it’s better to show what happens or what happened to let the readers understand by themselves.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of kevinplewis
    September 2, 2013, 1:58 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Sorry – couldn’t find a payoff.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • belw says
      October 24, 2013, 10:26 am

      Its ok, somebody big just did. I dont know how not to be excited. but to be real i would have agreed with you a year ago – totally, my story is unfortunately true and i thought maybe too exhausting and depressing for most. But I do have 11 screenplay awards nailed around my closet these past 6 months and am Finalist in the other 7 so who’s to say what people will like? i think I found that most people like reading about other people’s strife and pain, turmoil and upset. yes i learned that and if you want an option and your Lit Agent’s attention you put your screenplay in 20 Film Fests/contests and you may be shocked at what comes out of it. I did go to only 1 red carpet event to get my award. It was not that fun or exciting, I missed my kids and right after I landed in L.A. The Harlem Int’l Film Fest gave me best screenplay and that is 1 easy hour from my house! UGGGG! That was UGGG, not your review. somehow i enjoyed your review, best of luck to you my friend, bel

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  3. September 1, 2013, 7:05 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A very solid, well written story. There were a few things I would like to see tightened up or explained, that were kind of skipped or jumped over. There was such a build up of Bela having to go in search of the little girl out in the Siberian wild, but after Bela sets out to find her and we heear that it could takes months because the group she is with constantly moves. Then, all of a sudden, the little girl is with Olga and Bela and they are on to the next step. I also thing it is worth it to go a little into the little girls journey, adapting to being an American, after they get back. The story comes full circle but we are left hanging with them getting off a plane. How do they deal with her language barrier? How do they get her to behave? What happens with her medical condition? And what the hell was in that package?! I want to know more! I think this would make for a great movie, it would have to be tweeked to get the masses interested in this kind of uncommon family issue (adopting a foreign child)p. That could be something as simple as continuing the story after they get back. You created such great characters in Jim and Bela’s Mother. It seems ashamed we don’t get to see how bringing the adopted little girl into the picture affects everyone.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • belw says
      September 6, 2013, 7:26 pm

      Just wanted to let you know, maybe its in the book but not clear in the script: Bela took 8 months of Russian lessons to make sure she could handle court and law enforcement issues as well. Package was from American Embassy. You dont ask, you just courrier. bela found the little girl in a homeless shelter when she threatened to stay and make scenes. Still can’t make her behave and if you read the book all these things will be clear. Thank you for such an involved comment!

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • September 10, 2013, 10:07 pm

        Ahhh! I will have to pick it up then! I’m a bit embarrassed that I didn’t pick up on the fact that this was based off of your novel. That explains a lot, ON TOP of the gaps you just filled in. Believe me I COMPLETELY understand having your hands tied by the screenwriting process when it comes to having to pick and choose details to be left up to the audience actors and directors to piece together. I’m running into that issue even more so with my second screenplay. But if the extended story is in the book (unless this was JUST supposed to be a short) I still think it’s a shame to deprive the screenplay of that part of it. But thats just my opinion as a curious reader/audience member. It takes absolutely nothing away from the craftsmanship of your screenwriting. I’ve taken some notes for my own technique as well, so thank you!

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Report user
        • belw says
          November 10, 2013, 8:15 am

          Hello my nice new friend- i just read your very nice comments about my screenplay, the mistakes I left in aside. i want you to learn a really important lesson from me: Don’t ever submit a script to a film fest or comp thinking you’ll be ignored and deleted, on the net it says getting into a film festival and receiving an award is like lotto. NOT TRUE! Not true at all. look at me, I’m nobody, I entered 1 screenplay to 20 places this year and was too lazy to fix the mistakes. I never thought I’d get a quick read. 2 weeks later I received my 1st hollywood award-it was April Fools Day and I really thought it was a joke. Then the 2nd, 3rd. The only 3 film fests that didnt award me something had no script competition and i was too new and green to notice. 1 angry critic hated me. Hated me-he scored me a 30%. I had a strange espect and interest in the 1 critic who reviewed me horribly. Everyone else voted me something and in the end as a newbie writer on the scene i won 11 or 12 awards, 5 or 6 finalist positions. I want all my nice friends on here to know if you enter you WILL be voted into a FF/comp, so take out your mistakes. i just won a meeting with a big guy who said something that changed me-you have to love every page, and yes it will all be changed anyway. I’m sure you understand when i say i was shocked 17 places sent me awards and said nice things to me. I don’t get that much at home…..this did get my agent’s attention-every 2 days I was emailing my latest placement or award, he couldnt believe it. i never told him i entered like 21 contests because i never thought i’d be voted into 1. Now imagine what you can do. I’m a lazy writer, or just a woman with 1/2 a brain and a story to tell. you have talent and style. Imagine what would happen if for a small amount of money you entered 20 contests. Get ready to be awarded. They dont want you there, that i made clear when i left NYC, went to L.A., got Best Screenplay when i landed in LA at a NYC FF and was ignored and snubbed horribly by all the men at the red carpet ceremony. Not 1 came over to say hello. The photographers were nice, but i learned this summer even with my awards, I was invited to Hollywood i think to bus tables and maybe mop. Not one word, not even Hello-i ran over to 5 lonely women.So nobody will care about a screenwriter, even an award-winning one. But look what happened to me this year, and I believe I’m one of the most-awarded screenwriter this year. I don’t know if that was accurate, but thats what I heard-17 successes in a season. are you submitting all over? if so, if invited, would you go to a film fest to get your award? bel

          VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
          Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
          Report user
    • belw says
      October 24, 2013, 10:37 am

      Hi 24! i log in here sometimes and wanted to tell someone so I’m telling you. maybe because you’re a cute guy too but my agent told me my script is being reviewed for option by big guys. I’m shocked and now cant think about anything else. I want that option and movie deal 24, my exhusband, sisters, friends all laughed at me when i told them I was writing a book- and then a script! My sister’s snobby husband rolled his eyes at me like I was a drooling idiot. my first award they thought I made up-thats insulting! they checked it out online. Then i got another, then another. now I’m counting 12 screenplay awards-all different and some pretty, one plaque, hanging around my closet door. Yes, my lesson to the world is never let anyone laugh at you and get away with it. I’m the only one laughing now and rolling my eyes at them. Only my little boy had faith in me! So there, please say 1 prayer for me that this director and producers will not dump me the last minute.good luck to you too, bel

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.