Get Me This William Shakespeare
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.7/5 (10 votes cast)

Get Me This William Shakespeare

Set amidst the glamour and debauchery of war-time Hollywood, this film tells the story of a rogue private detective who uncovers a seductive and corrupting secret: the head of MGM has no idea who William Shakespeare is. The con is on.

10 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. February 10, 2014, 5:38 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A well told funny story, would have been great to see more minor folly or slapstick comedy scenes, it would of made the script more illusive. Overall well written and composed.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. ssabatino says
    January 4, 2014, 3:06 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I had a hard time getting a hold on this story. The formatting didn’t help matters. For instance, there is no need to keep capitalizing a character’s name in the slug line. Once is enough. This is a spec script, so don’t bog yourself down with technical mumbo-jumbo. It causes the telling of the story to be frenetic – choppy. I am not sure who the main character is; I’m guessing Walt. You have far too many characters saying basically nothing. There’s a lot of name dropping of the Silver Screen Era; I wonder how many audience members would recognize them. It took all the way to page 33 for the line “Get me this William Shakespeare.” You could have effectively inserted that on page 13. You need to comb through this script and slim it down. The first 6 pages are overkill. You can get your point across by the end of page 3 with the punch line, “Do you know what a news reel is, Mr. Wilson?” Cut pages 4 -6; they drag the pace. In fact, the next 5 pages, dedicated to a scene that can be summed up in 2, dig a deeper rut along your plotline. Your character Harvey is annoyingly repetitious and stereotypical. Cut your insignificant characters. Your scene descriptions are extensive and tedious to the reader. You rely on narration to take the place of dialogue. For example, on page 13, you tell the reader Mason was the only Marine sent back from the war because he was too hard on the Japs. Your audience will never know this. Try reading through your script without reading those huge paragraphs of narration. If you can still tell your story without them, then don’t put them in. If you can’t, then write a novel.
    I made it to page 40, still looking for an original take on a hackneyed theme of old Hollywood and its degenerate executives.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. May 27, 2013, 6:13 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Reminiscent of “The Maltese Falcon” and “Swimming With Sharks”. I checked a couple of the film references and didn’t find any mistakes. With a flashback at the start the pacing problems can be solved (and voice over wouldn’t hurt because of the genre). Maybe start when Walt get’s arrested, then throw back to the cafe at the start. The dialogue was what I liked most, and the fact that noone told the truth.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of StoffelMac
    StoffelMac says
    May 4, 2013, 9:25 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This took a long time to get going. I was well over halfway through before I started to get interested as to what was going to happen. However, I did think the idea was good as was the dialogue. The exception was the overuse of “in the stink”, which was just irritating.

    There are a couple of typos – Bette Davis was misspelt and Victor shoots the ceiling instead of Bugsey. However, they were the exception.

    The double-crosses were good, but the final reveal felt a bit contrived.

    Overall I think that the script has definite potential.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. T-Bone says
    April 17, 2013, 9:35 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    With three inciting incidents (count them) I can see how other reviewers thought this was slow to get to the Shakespeare meat of the story (page 31). That said, I wasn’t left wanting (or waiting) for the action to flow – even if it was perhaps overly neat at the conclusion.

    GMTWS is a story about liars, cheats and feints so no suprise there’s a ton of misdirection. What worked for me was that I had no idea what was going to happen next – and this is only confusing if you don’t care what happens. If you do – it’s suspenseful.

    Though maybe I’m biased, I once worked for a producer who never heard of Tolstoy.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of nickh
    nickh says
    April 12, 2013, 7:46 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Enjoyable read, fun dialogue, although I got a bit confused about the relevance of some of the relationships and history of the characters.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. April 9, 2013, 4:57 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Great dialogue and concept (I liked the multiple double-crosses) but I just found it too confusing to follow all the cuts back & forth. It also takes way too long to get into the meat of the story – I reached page 60 before I had any idea of what the movie was actually going to be about and what the lead character’s goal was. Once this was established, the second half of the script was much better, although all the reveals seemed to flash by too quickly, making it hard to keep track of what was going on. You should remove all the scene numbers (unnecessary unless you’re producing a shooting script) and I found all the ‘CUT TO’s between every scene distracting and unnecessary. I would recommend cutting down most of the first half to get to the Shakespeare storyline faster, then build out the second half to better explain all the twists and double-crosses, which in itself would provide more space for character development and allow you to bring out more comedy elements. Then I think this story could have legs.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. March 26, 2013, 5:05 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    It definitely had its genius moments.

    I would have liked to see Walt come up with the idea of being Shakespeare by page 30 at the latest, to get the story going.

    I really like that he was also hired to get dirt on William Shakespeare himself, who in fact is him.

    Above all the idea of a guy in Harvey’s stature not knowing that William Shakespeare himself has been dead hundreds of years and wants to get him signed is hilarious in itself.

    Overall, a nice concept, and I feel that needs just a little more polishing, story structure wise, and the tone of the story, and unless this is a shooting script, there’s no reason to have it formatted that way. It’s just a distraction.

    Anyhow good luck!

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. March 20, 2013, 5:50 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Excellent use of dialogue.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. March 12, 2013, 5:20 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Original concept; expensive to make tho.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.