Race for the Galaxy More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.6/5 (13 votes cast)

Race for the Galaxy

The galaxy is under assault from a dark threat; an alien race called the Kalraki that invades, plunders and enslaves world after world. Chad, the selfish cyclebot racer, and Quin, the strong, honorable soldier must both work together to help stop this massive, looming threat.

20 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. April 21, 2013, 8:39 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A lot of cool visuals and with out a doubt an original concept.

    I think more time should be put into making more interesting characters however, and then I see to it that this could be a winner.

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of nbill9
    nbill9 says
    January 31, 2013, 10:05 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    It was fine.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of ikadana
    ikadana says
    January 31, 2013, 8:11 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    original script! great science-fiction but im a bit worried about the budget, battle scenes may need to be a bit shorter.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of axelrodm1
    axelrodm1 says
    January 31, 2013, 5:33 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Slow it down. You’ve gotta romance me, don’t just stick it in there. The first act ends on page 10 after two racing scenes in rapid succession. Slow it down. That said, this is a pretty novel concept, and I think you can make it work if you keep at it. Unfortunately, this is way too high budget for a first time writer, but maybe somewhere down the line. Keep at it.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of yoyo
    yoyo says
    January 29, 2013, 8:29 pm

    too many characters

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of
    says
    January 28, 2013, 11:06 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I found that there were too many characters which made for a very confusing read. As well there where too many technical descriptions without enough story. And there wasn’t enough slower paced scenes as opposed to the action scenes.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    January 15, 2013, 10:45 pm

    unique idea but needs to be streamlined in terms of characters and subplots. characters could be combined to leave more room for char development. nice writing in the description.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • cjgrayso says
      January 21, 2013, 11:22 pm

      Thanks for the feedback. Your rating didn’t take or you forgot to do so. Just an FYI.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  8. January 13, 2013, 12:49 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I liked the basic idea as a sci-fi action adventure, and it may be that this would be easier to follow when actually produced. However, I found there were too many characters, and I found it hard to get into the story. It seemed like an interesting storyline with Chad and Quin, but she doesn’t get introduced until briefly around page 20, and mainly after page 30, when Rizz introduces Quin as the new trainee. Perhaps there might have been more conflict if Rizz became jealous of Quin. Maybe if there were fewer characters, these relationships could have been played up and more could be done to develop Chad’s character, beyond mainly joining the fighting group so he could get back to racing after he was injured. Though if he was injured, why would he be able to join in to fight the energy on the ship, whereas he couldn’t race any more? Perhaps the flashbacks might have been used to develop his character, and perhaps more have been done to develop Quin’s backstory, since she talks about being at a research lab. Maybe this could have been shown in action, rather than her just talking about it.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of filmnerd74
    filmnerd74 says
    January 3, 2013, 6:46 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Original concept. Nice pacing and flow. Dialogue too on the nose sometimes. Way too many characters in my opinion – combine some to make less complicated. Wasn’t a huge fan of the Rizz/Chad love story. Wanted to see him with Quinn or Zak’s daughter rather.
    Overall, nice work!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. rickemg says
    December 18, 2012, 1:17 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I just finished my read and enjoyed the story. The characters have depth to them. Chad’s acuity is matched by his aplomb actions. Good story well told Carey. The banter between Chad and Quin heightens their relationship.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  11. December 10, 2012, 2:43 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This was an amazing adventure. It flowed so well, it felt like it was written in just a day. I thought it was very good. Great Job.

    Vatican.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
    • cjgrayso says
      December 10, 2012, 1:17 pm

      Thanks for the complement. It has been in rewrites for a year now. I just extended a scene that reveals the main antagonist’s past and how he came to be. I can send you the scene if you’re interested.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  12. cjgrayso says
    December 5, 2012, 6:16 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Strap in for a roller coaster ride of a story with comic book characters and over the top action. If your’re looking for something deep and meaningful, you won’t find it here. But you might just enjoy the ride.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Profile photo of ericmozil
    ericmozil says
    November 28, 2012, 7:21 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Fun science-fiction yarn, written for I-MAX theater or as a computer game. Overall, you do a great job with pacing and action. It all flows very nicely and the pace never lets up. I especially liked the cyclebot racing action sequences; definitely added a lot of flair to the script. The big moment at the end the way the bad guy was eliminated was a pretty great way to close out that battle, so good work there. I can’t wait to see this in theaters.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  14. Profile photo of ceechoice
    ceechoice says
    November 28, 2012, 11:56 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    While some of the dialogue feels dated to me, the originality of the overall story wins me over.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  15. Profile photo of danac707
    danac707 says
    November 27, 2012, 8:05 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very visual writing. The dialogue is a bit on the nose at times but lots of action!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  16. cjgrayso says
    November 8, 2012, 10:56 pm

    Please read the first ten pages. If it doesn’t move you to read on, then don’t. Thanks.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.