Normal
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.3/5 (4 votes cast)

Normal

Bored with reality? Make one up. It sure beats facing murder charges.

    8 Comments

    Leave A Reply
    1. June 5, 2015, 6:33 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      It looks like a lot of imagination! I love it!

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    2. SW63 says
      October 17, 2014, 8:53 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      The purpose of a logline is to make studio executives / producers / directors / anyone with influence in the film industry interested in your script and want to read it.

      To do this you must demonstrate the ability to summarise your screenplay in three sentences or less – and, beyond this, be able to do it in such a way as to peak their interest.

      If you throw some vague, quasi-intellectual concept at them the chances are they will say, “goodbye”.

      These people have been in the business long enough to know what they want. A logline has to tell them:
      A) who the protagonist is and what they want,
      B) who the antagonist is and what they want (this equals “conflict”) and
      C) what’s at stake for the winner.

      Without this you don’t have a winning formula.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    3. tinisha says
      September 17, 2014, 11:43 pm

      I’m a bit confused. I think you may want to work on your logline. All loglines should at least have the main character(s). I do like the concept of making up your own reality but then you say murder charges? I’d like to see more with this logline.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • September 18, 2014, 9:07 am

        I believe the intent of the logline is to entice and draw interest. And from your claim that you would like to see more with this log line, I’m assuming that were you a producer, you would want to read my synopsis. Here is my synopsis for this story.

        Chris Michaels lives a boring, repetitive life. He is a security guard at an art gallery and is envious of his award winning boss, famed artist Romeo Britton. His envy stems from the fact that he and Britton attended art school together and it was he, not Britton whom all art teachers praised and predicted as the next bright star in the Art World.

        After days, months, years of living in Britton’s shadow, Michaels can no longer sit idly by and watch what he considers a “hack” claim the spotlight that he feel is rightfully his to own. To this end, Micheals decides to murder Britton at an upcoming gallery opening. As he approaches his intended victim, his weapon is spotted by a fan and a struggle ensues, in which Michaels is knocked unconscious.

        When he regains consciousness, Michaels realizes that he is fact not who he think he is, rather he is the person he despised the most. In a twist, Michaels discovers that he is in fact Britton and had in reality murdered an unknown artist by the name of Chris Michaels. He also learns that, though he (the murderer) was in fact the famed artist, he was not happen with the direction in which his career had taken: In recent years he felt that his work had grown stagnant, but because the public continually bought these boring and repetitive works, he was forced to continually create them. At the same time he (the murderer) saw promise in the work of an unknown artists (the victim) and in a fit of rage killed him with the hope that he could mimic his style and claim it as his own.

        As fate would have it, he has been caught and placed in a mental facility which is tasked with determining whether this murderer is sane enough to be put on trial. It is while incarcerated in the mental facility that Britton creates an alternative reality for himself. In this secret world inside his mind, Britton is the better, albeit unknown genius who is forced to live a boring and repetitive existence in the shadow of the famed artist persona of which he swapped places with due to guilt. Eventually, the world he’s created becomes too mundane for his psyche to maintain the facade and he awakens to reality where he faces murder charges for the death of Chris Micaels.

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Report user
    4. Chidi says
      September 7, 2014, 10:45 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      This could be anything, create multiple stories as it is.Good for a tag. But not for a logline.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • September 18, 2014, 9:13 am

        I feel that formatting a log line simply because that is the way it’s always done is very limiting. If we all stuck to what was done previously, we wouldn’t have films such as Pulp Fiction or Momento. Tag, log line. Did it create interest?

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Report user
    5. Ecila says
      September 7, 2014, 5:09 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      Well, I’m not certain what it’s about, but it is very interesting, and it stands out.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • September 18, 2014, 9:10 am

        All I am interested in is creating interest and it seem s that my log line (or tag, as others have labeled it) has done its job. If you would like to read the synopsis, please see my reply to another reviewer of “Normal”

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Report user

    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.