Music House
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.6/5 (3 votes cast)

Music House

Despite a late start, a home with parental violence and disinterest, and multiple tragedies, a talented young pianist finally finds his way to Carnegie Hall.

4 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Ron-Weiss says
    January 19, 2014, 2:35 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The most noticeable quality is the distinct characterizations. Each person is well defined and stays true throughout the script. Greg has a sweet sort of oddness that is charming and likable. A lot of work seems to have gone into each character. I see hints of subtlety in how each person is constructed.
    The story begins in a familiar place with a talented child and an unappreciative, abusive parent. As the plot unfolds, it moves in an interesting and not always predictable direction. There is a lot of emotional content that could be further exploited with more dramatization of conflict.
    Overall, the script needs polishing. Some of the transitions aren’t clear, at times dialogue is too formal, and there are moments when the writing is a little fanciful and could show slightly more realism. And I agree with mikeyz that it’s too long. The script begins to drag a little and the ending needs to move quicker or the audience will guess rather than be surprised.
    The writer has potential but the script needs some work.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of laura.lucianac
    September 26, 2013, 10:49 pm

    Excellent story line. Needs a little tweeking and could be a great movie.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of luulepra
    luulepra says
    September 25, 2013, 9:12 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    great play. I liked it alot. this writer has lots of potential.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. mikeyz says
    September 19, 2013, 10:20 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A very nice story with an interesting premise that would surely appeal to the piano-/ classic music-loving crowd. I like the Greg character and his growth as a child piano-playing prodigy and how he was taken in by this new family — after an abusive relationship with his own father — that allowed him to master and further his talent.

    I felt the relationship with Juliet perhaps could have been explored a bit more as I felt this was a significant point to the development of Greg’s character with respect to this new family.
    I also like Greg’s relationships with both Jacob and Professor Metzinger as well and I really wanted to see more of that.

    As the story progressed, I felt the dialogue got a bit stale and the story seemed to stagnate somewhat as we just followed Greg as he toured the world. The death of his new parents and the disappearance of Juliet shortly after was a pivotal crisis point to Greg’s character and all in all, I thought you presented that conflict in a very profound way. A great ending as well capped off a good story-telling as well!

    There were some minor spelling typos but nothing to dwell upon for sure.
    I think if you could possibly get this script down to under 120 pages, the read would be a little more enjoyable and less drawn-out.

    Overall, I’m glad I read this and with a bit of tweeking, this could be an incredible script!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.