Local Sugar
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.5/5 (16 votes cast)

Local Sugar

In this Cajun twist on “Froggy Went A-Courtin’”, mouse mayor Mary Lou, and her beau Sly Snake, fight back when slimy land baron frog Rowley threatens to wreck their little bayou town of Sugarville—and their wedding. (Updated: March 10, 2014)

23 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. February 15, 2014, 5:31 pm

    Just so you know, “Local Sugar” has its own Facebook page now!

    http://www.facebook.com/localsugarmovie

    Stop by for character art, contribute to an online readthrough, and more! Thanks for reading!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. scripted says
    October 26, 2013, 12:47 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    A good comedy to be, you can go on

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of dave
    dave says
    August 11, 2013, 6:43 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    i always enjoy an animated flick,so good luck

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Doboro says
    June 23, 2013, 10:09 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds like a cute idea if rendered well enough.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. March 8, 2013, 5:06 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Cool .

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. eventure says
    March 4, 2013, 4:06 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Put the baron frogs name in the log.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Profile photo of jeziers2
    jeziers2 says
    February 27, 2013, 11:58 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    sounds pretty cool, definitely something fun for the kids to watch! I’m expecting mischief and a lot of comedy. Good luck :)

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Profile photo of Bubba
    Bubba says
    February 26, 2013, 12:07 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    If written right, kids should like this.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of kingcarisma
    February 25, 2013, 7:07 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    This is cute. Would be a good disney movie.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. February 25, 2013, 1:00 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I like the idea but it does sound extremely similiar to Rango. I would come up with a way it differs more and highlight that in the logline. Great start though.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. willphil says
    February 24, 2013, 7:52 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    It sounds like this can be an entertaining and educational story for school age children. Using phrases like land baron (businessperson/investor) and bayou (swampland) town. The story is present, love between a mouse and snake saving their home.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. gjdevlin says
    February 23, 2013, 8:06 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Really cute idea here – could go Pixar or Disney or Dreamworks. I would lose the names of the characters though.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. says
    February 22, 2013, 10:35 pm

    Like it. sounds like a lil cute story

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. Profile photo of lex86
    lex86 says
    February 20, 2013, 12:09 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Sounds very sweet and funny!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  15. hingylingy says
    February 18, 2013, 5:37 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I like it, if there was just one small iota of something else in there it would jump to 4 stars,
    unfortunately, I do not know what it is off hand…

    Maybe I want to know if it is all animals in this town and then it appears to be a little like A bugs life, antz and so on.. can’t tell if this is another one of those already worn out animal animation stories or not??

    J

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • February 19, 2013, 11:32 pm

      Hingylingy– if I had a magic wand I’d wave it!

      Though you’d probably want to know it from the logline, you’re safe in assuming it’s an all-animal town. As to how much it retreads familiar territory, that’s probably in the eye of the beholder. :-)

      If you want to behold the story for yourself and decide, just Google “animated feature screenplay” (hard to say how long that trick will work, but I thought it was cool).

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  16. February 15, 2013, 9:03 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Lol like it! This frog seems like a real jerk, so I’d expect to see him bring alot of mischief to the table.

    Good luck!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  17. Profile photo of kccarmea
    kccarmea says
    January 17, 2013, 9:09 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    The logline could be more catchy but it sounds like a winner.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  18. mikeyz says
    January 16, 2013, 3:54 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Here is my rating now that the parameters are fixed.
    Very sweet and funny!!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  19. rickemg says
    January 13, 2013, 9:10 am

    Animated features has always tugged at me. The story potential is basic with twists I’m sure. I’m assuming that the audience will be tween or younger.

    Sounds like a nice little tale.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  20. December 21, 2012, 11:16 am

    Probably didn’t check the right boxes when I entered the logline info. I remember during the signup process there was a checkbox to the effect of “is there a finished screenplay”? I thought I left the options the same on all three loglines I posted (all three have screenplays, just not posted here), but this one has a full range of rating options and the others don’t.

    Will post a message in the support forums. Glad you like what you’ve seen, though, and thanks!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  21. mikeyz says
    December 18, 2012, 1:04 pm

    This is absolutely adorable and I really want to rate it but — and please correct me if I’m wrong here — the rating parameters appear to be that of a finished screenplay and not of a logline.
    Am I missing something? In any event, this is pretty sweet!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.