History Is Myth
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 2.6/5 (4 votes cast)

History Is Myth

Life. Reality. Dream. We struggle daily to ascertain which is which. We look in the mirror, and see two people. Two separate beings inhabiting one body. One angel. One devil. Never knowing which is which, we plunge ourselves into the unknown, braving the world, never knowing how a single interaction may shift the path we tread.

Jesse, an artist, a criminal, a father, struggling to find his passion in the world again, floating through the seedy world of Venice on the last breath of hope. Anais, a dancer, a mute, a loner, devoid of family, at the end of her career, the only way she knows how to communicate. A chance encounter. A bitter struggle ensues for both. It may be the end. It may be the beginning. Or it all might be a dream.

5 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of tonez
    tonez says
    June 23, 2013, 1:52 am

    Great imagery. In terms of a story — well, I don’t think there actually is one. Too short for a feature, and too long for a short — more like a sprawling poem. It definitely could be further developed. Because Anais is essentially Jesse’s fantasy I didn’t see the purpose behind getting any of her ACTUAL background… but if the story was developed this could become relevant. Also — I find it hard to swallow that their brief REAL encounter would send Jesse off into fantasy land over Anais… anyway could just be me. Good luck with it!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of kccarmea
    kccarmea says
    May 9, 2013, 1:26 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This was the most trippy thing I have ever read. I didn’t know what was happening most of the time. I was waiting for an inciting incident but then the script ended at page 25.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. April 2, 2013, 5:50 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    For starters, this is a “short” screenplay. 25 pages is not a full screenplay, but obviously that didn’t stop your work from being posted, but the nonetheless that itself is already a huge strike against you only because the rest of the scripts in this contest are feature length.

    Anyways, the script seems rushed through. When you rewrite it, slow the pace a little bit and concentrate the story on one or two major things that your main character, in this case, JESSE, wants, or desires to accomplish, especially since this is a short story.

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of
    says
    March 19, 2013, 12:41 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    You would do well to read The Screenwriter’s Bible by D. Trottier.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Profile photo of dejiannaalex
    March 12, 2013, 8:51 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    It caught my attention, Good storyline

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.