For The Blood And The Body
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)

For The Blood And The Body

Spurred into action by the preachings and execution of his mentor, a man of the cloth abandons his vows and takes up the sword and fights for the rights and religious freedom of his fellow countrymen in 15th century Bohemia. In the midst of chaos and death he finds love, but is it possible for him to find peace as well?

Monologue: Pages 68-70

6 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of keezheekonid
    January 18, 2015, 9:05 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Intriguing.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of poodle2382@gmail.com
    October 15, 2012, 6:31 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The above rating is for my earlier comment that I thought this was wonderful.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of poodle2382@gmail.com
    October 15, 2012, 6:04 pm

    I thought the historical accuracy of this script was wonderful and intricate. The writing was very fluid and richly descriptive. But I read a great deal of historical novels and I can understand why people who are more used to mental junk food not enjoying this (which is funny for me to say since I write comedies which are mental junk food) and it is true that any shallow reader would find this a difficult read. But in my opinion, with a minor amount of input from a good script consultant (like The Happy Writers, Juliet Gray, or Hollywoid script.com) this screenplay would knock people’s socks off. I found it sublime.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of Movieguy33
    Movieguy33 says
    October 15, 2012, 1:11 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I’ll have to agree with a lot of what a previous reviewer said. VERY hard to read. Too long and way too many characters to keep track off. The formatting needs some SERIOUS work! Nix the camera directions and the all caps.

    The script itself wasn’t written bad, you can tell the writer has some skills. I just didn’t think the story itself, in it’s current form, was all that interesting. This has a lot to do with the flow, it really needs some work, a lot of it has to deal with the formatting. Every time I saw a word in ALL CAPS or a camera direction, it totally took me out of the story. Best of luck.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of jjcj3113
    jjcj3113 says
    September 15, 2012, 11:32 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I found this a very hard script to read.  It was way too long and there were so many characters introduced so quickly, it was difficult to follow.  I wasn't even sure who the main character was.  

    I gave it 5 stars on grammar because it was written well in that aspect.  The tone of the piece was appropriate for the time frame.  However, because there were so many different characters they all began to sound alike and I could not keep up with who was whom.

    Make the story about your main character and focus on their journey.  They should be the driving force behind every scene.  It needs to be very clear to the read who that character is.  It wasn't to me.

    Some tips on formatting that you should be aware of are as follows:  

    You only need to put characters in all CAPS the first time you introduce then in you script, after that in subsequent scenes they can always be in normal case.

    be more descriptive when you introduce a character, give us an age at least and if it is not obvious let us know their gender.  With this story there were a lot of names where that was unclear at first.

    I am not sure why the writer chose to cap so many words besides the character's names.  This got a little distracting, too.  There really in no need to do that.

    As a writer you should stay away from camera directions and so many transition shots.  That takes the reader out of the story.  Just use your slug lines that is enough.  You need to save the space for your story.

    Try to keep your script below 110 pages.  The industry standard has always been 120 pages max, but now a days even that is too long.  30-60-15 is best for you 3 acts.  Yes there are scripts that are over 120 pages, but normally these scripts are written by already established screenwriters.

    These are just my thought, you can take them or leave them.  

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of JDror
    JDror says
    September 14, 2012, 8:26 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Think "Braveheart" meets "The Messenger".

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.