Fingers More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.7/5 (33 votes cast)

Fingers

A man known as Fingers, who has been alien to the human experience his entire life, makes the decision to kill himself on his thirtieth birthday.  A wrench is thrown into his plan, however, when a chance encounter with a woman who is desperately trying to find her way in the world puts them both on the bumpy, yet darkly comedic, road to redemption.

41 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. April 9, 2013, 9:04 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This is probably one of my top favorite scripts that i have read on here. I love the story, the characters, the whole script.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  2. April 6, 2013, 6:49 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I really liked this script. Fingers is quite a character, and as for Julie, she’s great.

    These two together rock!

    A bit much V.O.’s and could be tighter, but other than that,

    this is really good stuff!

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of ralphi
    ralphi says
    February 1, 2013, 7:29 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I don’t like this script… :s

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of Krang
    Krang says
    February 1, 2013, 1:45 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    😀

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of
    says
    January 31, 2013, 11:47 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Wasn’t for me.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Profile photo of nbill9
    nbill9 says
    January 31, 2013, 10:01 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Nice job!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. January 31, 2013, 3:21 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Not a bad start but needs a lot of work.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. January 31, 2013, 3:01 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Needs some work. The plot is a bit confusing. I’m not sure about the title either.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of bobsaget
    bobsaget says
    January 31, 2013, 4:04 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I use my fingers for a lot of stuff.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. January 31, 2013, 3:26 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    .

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  11. Profile photo of Umbilical-Noose
    January 30, 2013, 10:04 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I quite liked the story of our friend Fingers (of course I always enjoy a story about a good misanthrope). There were a few things I would have gone a touch deeper on (I didn’t exactly know why the light tower was so important to him and I wish I’d had a little more on why the cop was such a headcase [and I know there was some, but I wanted more of the deets], but I am a couple beers deep, so maybe I missed it), but overall, it was a great meditation on the way two wildly different people can come together and how even though we all have ugliness inside us, we can overcome it, or at least channel it toward a positive pursuit.

    It’s not what one would think of as typically commercial, but I liked that about it. Some might see it as a problem, but I think, at least for me, it’s one of its strengths. Definitely worth a read to be certain.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  12. January 29, 2013, 10:31 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I liked it. Fast moving, The story came together nicely. Interesting characters. Nice work.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Navin_Das says
    January 29, 2013, 6:20 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I don’t mean to compare, but in a way it’s like Danny and the Deep Blue Sea meets Minnie and Moskowitz. Just ease up on the voiceovers and bring out a bit more of Chris’ story. Overall, it’s a great read. I’d like to see this on film one day. Keep up the good work Mike.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  14. Profile photo of ashlew504
    ashlew504 says
    January 29, 2013, 1:55 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Congrats on this; should go far

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  15. WalkingZZZ says
    January 27, 2013, 8:23 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    keep at it but good.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  16. Profile photo of nspringer1
    nspringer1 says
    January 26, 2013, 5:04 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    meh, needs lots of formatting and will be good after a few more drafts.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  17. Profile photo of danielciarlo
    January 26, 2013, 4:07 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    It was average

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  18. January 26, 2013, 4:06 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    are people actually READING this script? This needs a lot of work. It’s very sloppy and the structure is choppy. For example, on page 25 julie and jade have lines of dialogue in the same line. Was this edited for mistakes or just rushed through and turned it quickly?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -3 (from 5 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of axelrodm1
      axelrodm1 says
      January 27, 2013, 1:33 am

      It’s called overlapping dialogue, you imbecile. The lines are meant to be said at the same time. Even if it was a mistake, what does that have to do with structure anyway? Do you know what structure is? In addition, as I said elsewhere, grammar is not a matter of opinion. To give this one star for grammar is ridiculous. I hope your hack friend appreciates you trying to stop me from winning this competition.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
      Report user
      • Profile photo of axelrodm1
        axelrodm1 says
        January 27, 2013, 12:58 pm

        Sorry, I didn’t realize you were the head hack in charge, not some other hack’s lapdog. I’ll check your script out soon and I’ll give an honest interpretation of how I feel about it. Also, I conveniently do know what structure is, so I’ll give you helpful notes on that.

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
        Report user
  19. January 25, 2013, 6:18 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Excellent writing, sir. I can easily see this as a purposely-low-budget Guy Ritchie flick.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -3 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  20. January 25, 2013, 3:53 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Great, great stuff.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  21. Profile photo of GymkataFan
    GymkataFan says
    January 25, 2013, 2:37 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Best screenplay since Gymkata!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  22. Profile photo of mburgos
    mburgos says
    January 24, 2013, 10:04 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  23. January 24, 2013, 1:51 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I can personally relate to such a man who feels… alien to the human race and things of this nature. Uhhh, this screenplay could very well be one of the better screenplays in the greater Philadelphia area. Mr. Axelrod is definitely a friend to the Biaviians. His creativity is second to none, you understand.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  24. cjgrayso says
    December 19, 2012, 3:39 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Overall, I enjoyed this story very much. I thought the main character was hard to like very much. He has some endearing moments, but kind of a grating personality. Still, if done by the right actor/director it could be pretty entertaining flick. As others have said, your formatting could use some tweaking. I would stray away from using SMASH CUT TO or START/END CREDITS. These are all director decisions. Your dialogue is by far your strength – extremely entertaining and filled with comedic catch phrases. Best of luck and I hope it makes it to the big screen some day.

    Carey Grayson

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
    Report user
  25. May 25, 2012, 6:09 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I was distracted by format issues ..Way too much technical direction(unless you’re directing)……………smash/fade, match cut, on black,………,Too many “F” bombs that don’t strengthen character, narratives like” We see the scenery,yada yada “..Ive been told.that we never say,”We see……….” Show it as a shot” CAMERA ON………..good character development, but “F” bombs totally unnecessary

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -2 (from 4 votes)
    Report user
    • May 25, 2012, 8:49 pm

      i am just a chumpy newbie,…last year I was chewed out by a few well known writers and directors about the same things,so I took it all out. Been there.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
      Report user
    • January 24, 2013, 1:53 am

      Uhhh yeah yeah, right. You just keep on hating and see where that gets you in life. Keep doin what you’re doin, shame on you and all that.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
      Report user
    • Profile photo of axelrodm1
      axelrodm1 says
      January 24, 2013, 7:11 pm

      The script is almost grammatically flawless. That is not a matter of opinion.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
      Report user
  26. Profile photo of catphrase
    catphrase says
    April 25, 2012, 1:35 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    congratulations on the screenplay! It is buzzworthy.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  27. Profile photo of jonnypayne
    jonnypayne says
    April 22, 2012, 12:22 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This was a fun read. Intriguing concept. I’m curious to see it done. Congrats Mr. Axelrod.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  28. Profile photo of scedar1
    scedar1 says
    April 21, 2012, 11:34 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Hilarious but grounded in a believable depression. Commendable work, Axelrodm.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  29. mdub says
    April 19, 2012, 3:06 pm

    Try to keep voice overs as short as possible. Get rid of your name at the top right of every page and I suggest not putting in where YOU think the credits should go, up to the director.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
    Report user
  30. Profile photo of
    says
    April 19, 2012, 2:23 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I LIKE TO SEE IT DONE

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  31. Profile photo of oliviaross
    oliviaross says
    April 18, 2012, 10:24 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Fingers was awesome.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  32. rickemg says
    April 6, 2012, 11:19 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I thought that this screenplay was pretty well written. The dialogue was swinging between cruide to clicheish, but I definately got the feel of Fingers aka Thomas Thomas. I thought that the character arc was a little weak but did come out. All in all it was an enjoyable read and I can see it on the screen with the right artists.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user
  33. rickemg says
    April 1, 2012, 9:02 am

    I thought that this screenplay was pretty well written. The dialogue was swinging between cruide to clicheish, but I definately got the feel of Fingers aka Thomas Thomas. I thought that the character arc was a little weak but did come out. All in all it was an enjoyable read and I can see it on the screen with the right artists.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  34. Profile photo of axelrodm1
    axelrodm1 says
    March 30, 2012, 5:21 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This screenplay is pretty damn good.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  35. Profile photo of jetski
    jetski says
    March 20, 2012, 6:34 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Might be worth watching.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.