Fight!!!
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.2/5 (7 votes cast)

Fight!!!

During WWI there was a small battlefield where the opposing sides developed a truce not to fight. When the new CO’s arrive they realize they will need to fake a real battle if they don’t want to be court marshaled.

9 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of RutgerOosterhoff
    August 27, 2015, 1:34 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Christmas eve when British, Scottish and German soldiers laid down their guns and united for one brief and joyful moment. Brothership and Drama at its top. “Joyeux Noël”. Can this be made into a comedy? Maybe, Blackader did it – but as part of a series – not as a (stand alone) movie. If you pull this of it would be briljant!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. July 7, 2015, 3:14 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    There’s immense scope for everything and the movie could turn out into a drama, comedy or even a tragedy.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. aweiss says
    July 7, 2013, 6:25 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    If this is a comedy, I don’t see the humor. You might be better off making this a drama, with some laughs in it. Unless this is meant to be along the lines of Wag The Dog. And that basically was a drama with some comedy too. And that’s why I give this 4 stars, as a drama, this would work a lot better.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of Jon-Cromer
    Jon-Cromer says
    July 1, 2013, 7:28 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Logline could be cleaned up slightly and made a bit more concise. Aside from that, I like the idea a lot. The concept is a neat one & I can see many comedic opportunities.

    The one thing that isn’t 100% clear to me is if the CO’s are in on it or not? Is it each opposing side that realize they’ll need to fake a conflict BECAUSE the new CO’s showed up? Or is it the new CO’s see the pathetic excuse for soldiers and realize they need to fake a battle to save face? Or.. is it a case where new CO’s show up for ONE SIDE and the rest (opposition and all) need to find a way to come together and conjure up a skirmish so that cat isn’t let out of the bag?

    Aside from that, like I said, sounds like a cool story. I’d be interested in reading it!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. May 1, 2013, 2:17 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I see a potentially good story here. However this is too long to try and hook someone or leave an impression that your story is well written if you have trouble communicating the idea of your story in as little of words as possible.

    Something like this as a suggestion or idea..

    Two opposing sides of a WWI battlefield develop a peace treaty. Years later, they must fake a real battle to avoid being court marshaled by their new CO.

    Whatever you choose to do, get to the point and jot that down in the logline my friend..

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of Dick-C.
    Dick-C. says
    April 30, 2013, 7:25 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Too long to hold my attention – However the storyline is not bad – Good luck

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. mikeyz says
    April 30, 2013, 12:35 pm

    Ok, that’s cool. It was just a suggestion … and it’s your log line so you would know best!
    Best of luck to you with your story!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. mikeyz says
    April 30, 2013, 12:16 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Good concept but the wording blurs the meaning somewhat.
    How about this:

    “A small battlefield during WW1 designated by opposing sides as a neutral site for peace becomes the scene of a fake battle staged by the soldiers as a way to convince their C.O.s that they are really still at war and avoid court marshalling …”

    Best of luck!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of
      says
      April 30, 2013, 12:27 pm

      I don’t think that would be so precise. “a neutral site for peace” gives a completely different image, it shows them only as pacifists as opposed to cowards, cosmopolites or something completely else.

      The way I see it the logline still shows exactly what it needs to show. The other sentence is OK.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.