Ferocious
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
Demonstrates the writer's craft
I want to read this script!
Rating: 3.0/5 (9 votes cast)

Ferocious

John Paul Jones, captain of the “Bonhomme Richard” defeats the British man o’ war “Serapis.” Naval hero of the American Revolution, he is the most famous man in the Western world. In 1787, Russian Empress Catherine the Great invites him to become an admiral in the Black Sea Fleet.

Catherine’s reign is called the “Age of Enlightenment,” the shining, glorious zenith in the history of the Russian Empire. Jones comes to help during the Russian-Turkish War by which Crimea becomes part of Russia.

The trip to Russia changes Jones’s life forever. Though he wins brilliant victories in battle, the other Russian officers refuse to accept him as a great naval strategist and reject him as commander, due to his questionable genealogy and pirate past.

Until then famous for having a romance in every European city, Jones unexpectedly falls deeply in love with Catherine’s closest confidante and Maid-of-Honor – Anna Kuriakina, and she also falls in love with him, a forbidden romance.

When Catherine learns of their relationship, she assigns agents to follow Anna, day and night. And John Paul Jones is ordered to leave for his wartime assignment.

Jones wins neither battle honors, nor marriage to the beautiful woman he loves.  Anna, sent to a nunnery, runs away, disguised as a boy, to meet secretly with John Paul Jones.

Despite the many blows of fate that befall them, the American hero and the Russian beauty love each other so deeply, the reverberations continue to this day between our two countries. (Updated: February 20. 2013)


9 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Vapit says
    September 25, 2014, 2:04 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Little waxing, polishing and make-up and it’s good to go.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of coachalex
    coachalex says
    August 27, 2014, 11:30 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Hey man
    Kudos for the extra- trailer- nice touch. A little long, but I actually learned a few things. One critique though- You state it’s a story between JPJ and Catherine the Great. But your synopsis (and I guess your script) is more about the “forbidden” love between JPJ and Ana K.

    To the synopsis- I would just beef up the “love-story” part and spend more time on these two characters; really use empathetic and sympathetic adjectives to drive home the romance. Keep it simple.
    Good luck,

    AM

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. rashevich says
    June 11, 2013, 3:04 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Hmm, needs to be polished but it’s okay.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. hingylingy says
    April 28, 2013, 10:30 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Could be a Historical Epic

    I think of Braveheart and how “High” the stakes were.
    couldn’t we have higher stakes here?

    There is a notion…convince me that they can’t live without each other, no matter what!!

    They love each other so deeply, the reverberations echo between our two countries…

    Change this to – their love is so deep John Paul Jones would give up everything to run away with his true love. But if he does this the fate of many will be left to chance, even death as he must decide which is more important, his honor or his heart?

    Something to this effect.

    Also, when you say “our” countries it is assumed that you are Russian and all of your readers are Americans!

    Best of luck.

    Like what you are doing.

    Jay

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of
    says
    April 21, 2013, 7:13 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Somehow I haven’t actually grasped what this is all about.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. April 9, 2013, 7:08 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Too many words that say very little about the story itself.

    Give us an idea of who he is, what he wants, who’s in the way of getting it, and the conclusion, in a quick yet compelling manner.

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. joyhorror says
    February 28, 2013, 11:00 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Your writing skills are ok but everything else needs some work.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. gjdevlin says
    February 20, 2013, 11:52 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I love period piece films. To shorten this, you can omit the 2nd paragraph. Looks to be an interesting script!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. December 7, 2012, 1:20 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    It’s written really well. Would make a great big budget movie.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.