EARTH SENTINELS: THE STORM CREATORS More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 4.4/5 (4 votes cast)

EARTH SENTINELS: THE STORM CREATORS

A fallen angel forms an alliance with shamans, totem animals and people affected by manmade environmental disasters to protect the planet, but as the events unfold and governments retaliate, the characters are forced to question their own motives and fight for their lives.

8 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of diyerswanny
    February 24, 2015, 6:38 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I liked the writing in this. The dialogue felt natural and worked well in the context of this screenplay. I did feel that this story somehow has been done before but either way, there is always something about the spiritual or supernatural that will hold interest in audience regardless of age. When reading through this screenplay, I did feel there were too many characters introduced at once and I didn’t really know who the main protagonist/antagonist was.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. roknsrf says
    February 10, 2015, 10:18 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This story is about a fallen angel/demon helping a select group of earth conscience individuals to force the world’s governments into curbing the wanton destruction of “Mother Earth” by greedy money grubbing corporations. Although I find this premise a worthy topic for a great novel and adapted screenplay, I don’t share the same enthusiasm with the other reviewers that this story or script achieves that lofty goal. Things start out well in the first act when likeable and identifiable protagonists are pitted against formidable antagonists, and the reader is tempted by the promise of interesting and engaging characters with crisp and meaningful dialogue.The difficulty begins in the second act when no main character emerges and the premise is clouded in the ambiguity of unimaginable violence perpetrated by the so-called peace and harmony loving earth sentinels slash storm creators. If it were only storms they created and not the wanton murder of their enemies along with an unholy alliance with a demon who just happens to care about the earth and these humans who share its passion to save the earth from their earth destroying enemies. Sadly, this is no fairy tale fit for a wider audience. The concept of fallen angels who help humans is not a new one in screenwriting, i.e. “Noah,” and one wonders if it is a concept that accomplishes any more than inciting the Judeo/Christian community. Nevertheless, suppose the reader accepts these anomalies, at what point does the lack of character development and absence of any meaningful plot twist to deliver the punch a fantasy script such as this needs to carry us into the third act and make us stand up and cheer for our protagonists final incredible ag

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • roknsrf says
      February 10, 2015, 10:56 pm

      Continued from reply below, (accidentally pressed enter or something)against all odds triumph occur. Unfortunately, there is none and that’s why this script falls short of what it could be. I suggest that the fallen angel needs to be elevated to the primary a protagonist it needs to be and present Bechard with an obstacle that takes real growth and ingenuity to overcome. On the plus side, this story has promise and a chance to succeed if it can overcome its flaws. Unlike most all of the other scripts in this contest that incorporate montages and flashbacks, those employed by Herrera create little distraction and help move the plot forward with a greater understanding of the story even if they reveal her lack of experience at script writing. In addition, with only 5 proof reading chances and virtually no grammatical errors it is the cleanest script of any of the dozens I have read so far. Overall, it is well done and worthy of 4 stars overall.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    • February 11, 2015, 8:50 am

      Your “review” seemed more like a rant. Any script that can invoke that much emotion is great, whether you like its message or not.

      Couple of things I wanted to point out. One, less than a 8 people are killed by the Earth Sentinels, all of them soldiers except for one oil rigger, who is killed by accident. While any death is unfortunate, this is not “unimaginable violence” by today’s standards.

      The Earth Sentinels did not claim to be “peace and harmony,” that is a label you put on them. Secondly, some of them did reexamine their methods and found them to be “too violent” for their own tastes. The Earth Sentinels start out with the premise, “We see ourselves as part of the earth. When she is attacked, we are attacked,” and later many conform to the belief, “Learn how to love the spirit behind these events and the events will respond to your love, transforming themselves.”

      Regarding a twist, you seemed to overlook the governments’ attacks against the indigenous people. This oversight is common in today’s world, which condemns anyone who dares stand against the White quest to gut the planet of all its natural resources.

      Didn’t understand your justification for saying the story would incite the Judeo/Christians, unless you associate that label with White males in power.

      Finally, having one lead character is a Western ideal. The tribe mentally recognizes that it will take many people to save our plant.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • roknsrf says
        February 12, 2015, 2:31 pm

        Shaman_Elizabeth, I did emotional invest myself in your script because I felt it was worth it, and I’m sorry if my review seemed like a rant. Personally, I think it sucks to have to write these kind of reviews as I am an amateur screenwriter like everyone else in this contest. Not to mention how upsetting it is to receive any form of negative feedback for something we have all worked so hard and slaved over for however many months. But, I am trying to give the best critique I can as a student of the art. I suppose I could just give the standard one line type of review that reads something like “Oh it was great – can’t wait to see it in the theaters” answer that seems to be so prevalent here, but unlike most of the reviewers, I’m not trying to win a popularity contest. However much I have loathed submitting to the rules of this contest, I want to somehow get what they are trying to teach me, and that is to be a proper analyst of my craft. That’s why I have taken the time to read dozens of scripts. Unfortunately, the old axiom “if you don’t have anything nice to say, say nothing at all” is not a viable option when it comes to this sort of thing if one wants to actual learn the art of honestly critiquing other’s work. All that said, your story is a good one and worth being told, however, it is a lot harder to get your script made into a movie if it does not meet industry standards. We have our relatives, friends, etc. to tell us how good our work is, but unless they have the capitol to fund our projects we have too learn the finer points of our craft and that only comes from getting our scripts torn apart so we can put them back together better than they were before. It might not be easy to hear, but sometimes that takes years and several proverbial beat downs. All the best to you in your journey through the process.

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Report user
  3. KelvinT says
    January 13, 2015, 7:37 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Earth Sentinels is very well written screenplay that evokes strong imagery from the concise description of scenes used. The screenplay also has a very strong message at its core.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  4. LR_Shaw says
    December 19, 2014, 3:14 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This is an awesome adaption of an awesome novel and love them both!
    This is a movie that needs to be made. The screenwriter has carefully crafted a story with characters who’ll remain in the viewers mind long after they’ve left the theatre.
    There’s humor, action, intrigue and a brilliant message woven throughout the story.
    This won’t be a low-budget film, however it has the potential to rock the film world if this is pulled of right by a great director/producer.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.