Distortion
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
Demonstrates the writer's craft
I want to read this script!
Rating: 3.0/5 (10 votes cast)

Distortion

Caleb is driving through Arizona in a zombie apocalypse. He picks up a recently orphaned teenager named Brandon. They spend the night at a Walgreens, and we find out that Caleb is on his way to Seattle.
The next day, Caleb switches into Triton, who puts a gun to his head. Brandon, scared and confused, starts to cry as he is dragged into the street. Triton, reluctantly, agrees to drop him off at the next town.
Brandon tries to be friendly, but is rebuffed by Triton. They remain silent until Caleb returns. He explains that he has split personality and that he was going to tell him but didn’t know how to.
Triton notices Brandon still with him, and says that if he wants to stay he can but don’t tell him he didn’t warn him. Triton turns on the radio to ignore him, but finds out that they both like the same type of music. They start to bond as they stop at a town for food.
A vehicle with a group of Survivors hits them. They leave Caleb for dead and kidnap Brandon. Triton begins tracking them down.
The Survivors keep Brandon chained, as they get ready to leave for a new place. As they’re packing, Triton and Caleb attack them. After the fray, Brandon escapes in the Chevelle and Caleb stabs Triton. Brandon follows the GPS to a house in Seattle. And we find that Caleb’s whole purpose for going there is to kill his mother.

13 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of raydavenport
    January 24, 2015, 11:06 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    The story sounds great but you must use spacing between your paragraphs and sentences or it will look just sloppy and immature.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. December 9, 2013, 2:08 pm

    I want to Thank everyone who has or will have read and rated this. And I would also like to apologize for it as well. If you could not tell from the synopsis above or the others I have on here, I am awful at writing them. I mean, give me a script idea – and I’ll write it. Want me to write a synopsis? I don’t know where to begin or end. I have disowned all the synopsis of mine on this site. I need to rewrite them and I will. As soon as I know where to start. Practice makes perfect.

    Thanks

    Vatican Kelevra

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. December 7, 2013, 3:42 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I really like the main character Caleb and his split personality Triton. It gives a unique spin on the traveling survivor of a zombie film.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. aweiss says
    December 5, 2013, 2:26 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Comedy or drama? Works very well as a comedy. I agree with the others, this is a bit confused, but an interesting concept nevertheless but needs a better way to end, ??? just doesn’t do it. But i do think this is a good starting point overall.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. belw says
    November 27, 2013, 9:02 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    If anyone enjoyed your writing then you must be better than the synopsis. Rewrite it and keep your reputation going strong. Now I’m curious to read what CJGRAY found so impressive. Best of luck

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of
    says
    April 21, 2013, 7:09 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    It basically is what a zombie movie is about. The zombies are not what people are afraid of but the lack of order in the world. Their worst enemy are themselves.
    Drop the word zombie out of conversations (if any) and the movie might be similar to something Romero would film.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Profile photo of CYRIL-EZIAMAKA
    April 1, 2013, 6:36 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I must say, that this was a little difficult to read. It didn’t flow or hook, revision, better.

    Best Wishes,

    Cyril.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. says
    March 17, 2013, 9:45 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Reads a bit long for a synopsis. Difficult to pick out the major plot points among the rest of the info. The reader will be more engaged if you present only the most relevant parts of your story.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. jrfuentes says
    February 27, 2013, 9:50 am

    In my opinion, look me a little confused ,

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. February 20, 2013, 8:53 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    This too demostrates your skills as a writer, in the essence of writing a story.

    But it is limited to reading as an outline and nothing more.

    As time goes, I see that you will greatly increase your skills in writing a synopsis, for you tell good stories. It’s just the way you present it. It should include major plot points, but more importantly create empathy for your protagonist, so that we understand him/her and will want to join him/her on that journey because of that.

    Overall, this is much better than some synopsis I’ve read so far, which are three times longer and all over the place.

    So keep at it! And kudos to mentioning “Book of Eli” great movie :)

    PEACE

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. cjgrayso says
    December 17, 2012, 11:06 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I really loved your writing in the Page 1 contest. Great dialog. Good action. I really wanted to read the script. But this Synopsis isn’t as captivating and given the quality of writing from your Page 1 contest, I was expecting much, much more.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. joyhorror says
    December 7, 2012, 2:48 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I think there is too much unneeded information. It would be better if it was trimmed down a bit.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.