Dead Afterlife
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
Demonstrates the writer's craft
I want to read this script!
Rating: 3.6/5 (14 votes cast)

Dead Afterlife

On the eve of one of the most important medical breakthroughs in history,  Terranova Pharmaceuticals representative Donald Conlee is found dead in his New Jersey home.  His miracle drug “Awake” was supposed to be a dream come true in the field of brain trauma.  Instead, Donald Conlee finds himself dead awake during his own funeral.   In a supernatural turn of events, it’s up to the ghost of Donald Conlee to put his own undead body back into the ground,  in order for his soul to gain entrance into Heaven.   Can the afterlife defeat the living dead?

22 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Vapit says
    September 19, 2014, 7:37 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    This could be just as good as a comedy or an horror!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. joyhorror says
    August 19, 2013, 11:18 am

    DEAD afterlife launches IndieGoGo campaign with top horror stars

    http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/horrornews-net-presents-dead-afterlife/x/557142

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of
    says
    July 11, 2013, 7:54 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    great concept! But I think you divulge a little more of the story in the synopsis.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Baayinah says
    July 11, 2013, 9:56 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    cant wait to read this. Also, Love the name Donald Conlee.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. rashevich says
    June 4, 2013, 4:26 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Well, it starts very good but at the end I was lost… No antagonist?
    How ever it says a lot with little.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of
    says
    April 21, 2013, 7:15 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Jacket meets some kind of zombie movie I guess

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. March 12, 2013, 5:44 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    This would make for a great “idea” for a movie, but since I am grading this simply on synopsis standards, I cannot say the same. You beautifully explain the concept, but it is too little to be a synopsis.

    Perhaps when you stated “supernatural turns of events” you’d want to actually explain them, then that would be more satisfying.

    Good luck!

    Ron

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  8. Profile photo of Boxing49ers
    February 28, 2013, 9:25 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I liked this. I thought the theme of zombies was overdone, but the premise has enough originality, and I love “new drug gone wrong” themes. Would love to read the screenplay.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      March 3, 2013, 10:02 pm

      I’ll have the screenplay available to read soon. Thanks for the good words.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  9. dimitri63 says
    February 21, 2013, 4:38 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Synopsis here is just a concept. Can’t imagine how this will be a movie. No action. No characters at all. Story has no beginning middle end and we don’t care.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. hingylingy says
    February 14, 2013, 2:06 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Is he a ghost or is he undead, like a zombie.
    A little more clarity on this aspect.
    Interesting story line – what if you had just a little more on the antagonist,
    who is he actually fighting here? what character epitomizes the undead, or is it afterlife…

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      March 3, 2013, 10:05 pm

      simply put… it’s ghost vs zombie ( of the same person )

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  11. gregorj says
    December 7, 2012, 6:04 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    Excellent, but not really my genre.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. joyhorror says
    November 20, 2012, 11:29 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I know you guys are going to enjoy the journey of Donald Conlee both as GHOST and ZOMBIE!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. gjdevlin says
    November 15, 2012, 1:56 pm
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    This is a cool idea. I would think about expanding more on this section.

    Donald Conlee finds himself dead awake during his own funeral. In a supernatural turn of events, it’s up to the ghost of Donald Conlee to put his own undead body back into the ground, in order for his soul to gain entrance into Heaven.

    The line “it’s up to the ghost of Donald Conlee to put his own undead body back into the ground” is really intruging and makes one think what is he really up against?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      November 19, 2012, 3:09 pm

      Thank you for the great feedback.

      What is Donald Conlee up against? It’s the kind of thing to really make you think. It can spin off in so many different directions. I think I’m doing something right.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  14. October 24, 2012, 2:32 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I like it. Would love to read it.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  15. Profile photo of normanwilliam
    October 24, 2012, 2:21 am
    Clearly defines the concept & tells a story
    Defines characters (protagonist & antagonist)
    Story structure has a beginning, middle, & end
    Demonstrates the writer's craft
    I want to read this script!

    I definitely want to read what you’re gonna do with this. I really like the concept.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      October 24, 2012, 5:14 pm

      It’s getting a really good buzz from everyone, so I hope you enjoy the script once it’s posted.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.