Dead After Life
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.6/5 (17 votes cast)

Dead After Life

The ghost of Donald Conlee finds himself attending his own funeral only to be surprised that his zombie counterpart is eating all his guests.  Now, it’s up to Donald’s ghost to figure out how to get Donald’s undead body back into his grave.

46 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of Les-Robertson
    August 28, 2013, 6:05 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Stood out as very high concept. I would read this or go see it at the cinema

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. joyhorror says
    August 19, 2013, 11:19 am

    DEAD afterlife launches IndieGoGo campaign w/ Michael Berryman and Kane Hodder

    http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/horrornews-net-presents-dead-afterlife/x/557142

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. February 21, 2013, 8:03 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Love these kinds of movies!!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. joyhorror says
    January 14, 2013, 12:45 pm

    Bill Oberst Jr. talks about “DEAD afterlife” on Evolution of the Apocalypse podcast – http://caldwell030785082.podomatic.com/entry/2013-01-10T20_00_00-08_00 View

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. mzmalone81 says
    January 7, 2013, 7:29 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I think zombie fans will really get into this story

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. joyhorror says
    November 20, 2012, 11:25 am

    FEED ME MORE… FEEDBACK : )

    HOPE EVERYONE HAS A HAPPY THANKSGIVING

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. joyhorror says
    October 23, 2012, 1:01 pm

    I hope everyone who enjoyed the logline, will check out the monologue and synopsis for DEAD afterlife.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. October 14, 2012, 1:48 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Very interesting…maybe some Hitchcock’s movies could help you to writing it!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Avatar of MattLove
    MattLove says
    October 14, 2012, 1:21 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Love the idea, would pay to see this at the cinema. Logline is clean.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      October 21, 2012, 9:28 pm

      You wouldn’t have to pay to see it in the cinema, I would give you a comp for your generous stars : )

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  10. Avatar of normanwilliam
    September 19, 2012, 9:28 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I’m giving this high marks because the potential is great! Only, why don’t you consider making the protag a zombie instead of a ghost? I think it would be really cool to write something about a guy that becomes a zombie but retains his mind!!

    When Donald Conlee rises from the dead at his own funeral in the midst of a zombie apocalypse, he has to figure out why the virus hasn’t affected his mind and save his family before his body rots completely away.

    I dunno. Sounds flippin brilliant!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      October 21, 2012, 9:24 pm

      Thank you on the FIVE STAR rating on Story Potential. I’m going in a different direction, but I certainly like your take on the story as well.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  11. Avatar of
    says
    September 16, 2012, 10:43 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    The story idea is great. The hook is good but needs a small adjustment. I'm sorry I rated the overall as a three but there are so many horror zombie movies out there and yours is just one more.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • joyhorror says
      October 21, 2012, 9:16 pm

      I agree, there are too many zombie movies out there. The last thing I wanted to write was just another zombie flick, but that being said, this story is so much more than that. The idea hit me and it had to be done.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
      • Avatar of normanwilliam
        October 24, 2012, 1:56 am

        This is where we differ. There aren’t ENOUGH Zombie movies out there. The fact that they are so successful and continue to get made shows you that audiences can’t get enough. I love your take on this genre JH. I am disappointed though that you rated mine so low!!

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Report user
  12. dimitrios says
    August 20, 2012, 6:52 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    So now Donald Conlee becomes his own spirit/zombie and needs to move his material body (zombie) to the grave? This would be difficult thing as the zombie part would resist to be taken away and second spirits are made of energy and can’t manipulate objects in a material world…
    How is that eh? The logline is funny as zombie versus spirit.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      August 27, 2012, 1:23 pm

      You GOT IT! Spirits CAN’T move material things, like Zombies! There you see the conflict. How will Donald Conlee’s ghost overcome this impossible task? Stay tuned…

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  13. paul says
    August 16, 2012, 12:52 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Oops, sorry, I forgot to rate. Thumbs up!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  14. paul says
    August 16, 2012, 12:50 pm

    I’m a bit worried about the “eating all the guests” part, but I love the logline anyhow. In fact, I found the logline so effective that I could actually picture the film! It would definitely work better as a comedy horror and not horror, though. (I haven’t seen the script, so I don’t know). If the script is as interesting as the logline, I’d like to see the film. Well done.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      August 27, 2012, 1:16 pm

      If you can actually picture the film then I guess I’m on the right track. Thanks!

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  15. Avatar of tserlin
    tserlin says
    June 29, 2012, 4:55 pm

    Re-read and adjusted my stars. This is a fresh concept – but there are a few logic issues when you consider the mythos. If your script effectively addresses this issue – it could very well be a huge winner – b/c we haven’t really seen many ghost versus zombie movies.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      July 16, 2012, 4:27 pm

      “it could very well be a huge winner – b/c we haven’t really seen many ghost versus zombie movies.”

      Thank you & I agree!

      I’m working hard to get this project off the ground.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  16. Avatar of tserlin
    tserlin says
    June 22, 2012, 8:07 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Concept sounds fresh and this could be a great comedy — is it though? There is a little clutter that you could eeasily take care of to distill to the essence of what you want to excite readers about.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      June 25, 2012, 12:54 pm

      You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. You’ll never be the same again. Seriously speaking, thanks for the good words and advice.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  17. June 13, 2012, 2:35 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Hokey concept…..

    By the tie refigures out how to get body back….is anybody left? How many guests????

    feels like a cult comedy

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  18. May 22, 2012, 12:57 pm

    The concept is different. Has promise. Would also make a cool videogame imo.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      May 22, 2012, 1:08 pm

      I didn’t think about the videogame aspect. Cool indeed!

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  19. cynosurer says
    May 21, 2012, 7:42 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I like paulmailhot’s shorter version. I think it’t the word eating that sparked the comedy element. Devour eworks better as would kills. Another question is do the ‘eaten’ guests turn into zombies or are they too far devoured?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      May 21, 2012, 8:35 pm

      I’m not following the typical zombie mythology where zombies create other zombies. The details of the story will explain that. Our story only have one zombie but I will say this, he is one bad a** zombie!

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  20. joyhorror says
    May 21, 2012, 1:52 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    This isn’t your traditional zombie flick. There is only one zombie as opposed to your normal army of zombies. After Donald Conlee’s untimely death, his ghost is burdened with trying to get his undead body back into his grave. You see, until Donald’s body is put to rest, his soul will not be granted access into heaven. I hope you guys love this as much as I do.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  21. Avatar of seanery7
    seanery7 says
    May 18, 2012, 9:09 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    “Haven Can Wait” means there’s some comedy. In fact, I find zombies always make for at least a few laughs. “My Dinner with Andre” comes to mind, what with the eating. If you can explain to the audience how one can have both a ghost and a zombie, you may have something! Have never seen that done.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      May 18, 2012, 10:47 pm

      Definitely some comedy. I never said there wasn’t. I guess I probably should have listed comedy in the genre category, as it has become somewhat of a topic. I agree with your statement about zombies making for some laughs. This is horror/thriller first and foremost, but the comedy element is in there. You won’t be disappointed.

      Like you, I have never seen a movie that a character is both ghost and zombie. I’m kind of surprised that we haven’t but if I can be the person to put this unique mash up together, then I hope I will do the horror community proud.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  22. says
    May 15, 2012, 10:22 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    The story premise (from one who has not read the story) screams comedy, which is not one of the mentioned elements. I also think more brevity would help to give it more punch.

    Donald Conlee’s ghost must figure out how to get his corpse back into his grave before his zombie counterpart devours all his funeral guests.

    Or something like that.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. Avatar of ckmoak
    ckmoak says
    May 8, 2012, 2:48 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Comedy I assume?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      May 8, 2012, 5:25 pm

      I would definitely label this as horror, however there are some elements of comedy : ) It’s just not over the top comedy.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  24. Avatar of duncanjrh
    duncanjrh says
    May 8, 2012, 1:12 pm

    I think this is a great concept!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      May 8, 2012, 2:42 pm

      Thank you sir! I think you guys are really going to like the screenplay.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  25. rickemg says
    May 7, 2012, 10:58 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Now I want to know if Donald figures out how to get his body back. I look forward to seeing how his Zombie counterpart eats the guests.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • joyhorror says
      May 8, 2012, 2:38 pm

      You see, that is the dilemma. How can a ghost stop a zombie? Stay tuned…

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.