Conquest of the Nagas More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.5/5 (7 votes cast)

Conquest of the Nagas

What if an American woman in India finds her soul transmigrating into a life form of a mythological being? This story delves into the metaphysical aspect of mind-body alternatives proving existence occurs in other dimensions simultaneously with our world. Dara, a young, bright, strong-willed athlete, participtes in a snake cult ritual that leads to a kidnapping and being the forced guinea pig of a lunatic physician. Those psychiatric experiments take her into a mental mystic world of deep unknown possibilities sharing her soul as a naga, a creature half-human and half-snake.

7 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. wardparry says
    July 3, 2012, 9:48 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I wish concept was all we needed to worry about as writers. Unfortunately it isn’t. Whilst the premise is right on, the delivery is a mess. A metaphorical piece like this is crying out for silence. At the very least, juxtaposed dialogue. Characters do not need to provide expositional commentary on their own actions. It’s distracting, takes away from the narrative, and, in truth, really destroys the read. Very cool idea. Watch Mallick and see what that opens up for you.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of davemann812
    June 11, 2012, 3:41 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    What I liked: No grammatical errors that I saw. Good story structure. Idea definitly different.

    What I did not like: The dialog. Stilted & dense. Speech sounded unnatural. Talking heads made difficult to stay focused or intrested in the story.

    To me the story would make a much better novel IMHO.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. rickemg says
    May 25, 2012, 3:06 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I thought that William wrote a good story. He put time in his research to bring about a story that left you thinking of the third and fourth demintions.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of sperkins
    sperkins says
    May 20, 2012, 11:08 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    What an imagination this writer has! A very interesting concept and very marketable. There is nothing quite like this out there. Also this genre seems to be very popular right now. Glad I got ton read it!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of elizabethjane
    May 19, 2012, 3:27 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I really enjoyed this screenplay! It was very imaginative and enjoyable. I can easily see how this script could be relived on screen. The fact that the story involves several different characters and intertwines two cultures in addition to the imaginary element makes for a very interesting and appealing story. I hope to see this on the big screen soon!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of wwhitley6231955
    May 18, 2012, 1:17 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The material is fresh compared to continous sequels of screenplays presently put out by the Hollywood machine. The story structure is put together with plot points in the suggested page count locations. Much research was used to combine the Indian culture and naga mythology into a sci-fi fantasy without delving into the numerous religious possibilities. I used the latest scientific information about life and death to give credibility to the concept of soul migration. My main concern in writing this work was a solid story foundation. Best of all, I had a Hollywood script consultant review my material.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. katiedon says
    May 15, 2012, 4:18 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Glad I don’t need to read again. The dialogue was phony and bad, especially Dara’s.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.