Compensation
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 2.6/5 (4 votes cast)

Compensation

In spite of some hesitancy’s which originally result from their identities, Hans as a former Nazi officer and Sam as a young Jew, they prove that love exist independent of labels, language, religion and race, appraising and judging each other themselves.

4 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of barfield999
    February 14, 2016, 1:53 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    There is too much unnecessary detail. All detail should drive the plot along. Also this story is
    in desperate need of a hook in at least the first three pages. I think when fleshed out there will be an interesting story here.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of peterfitz
    peterfitz says
    May 24, 2012, 3:26 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I had trouble working out precisely what this screenplay is about. While I think there is a good story in there somewhere, it is yet to manifest in the current version. In other words, what is the hook? What is it that the writer is really trying to say? What is it about these characters that will intrigue me and cause me to react to them (whether its empathy, anger, sadness, fear or whatever)? What is the journey we are going on with these characters – how have they changed from the start of the screenplay to the end? What the screenplay is ‘about’ at the moment is too broad. And I’m not sure the broad concept is enough to sustain the read. At present the screenplay is a collection of events and dialogue with insufficient building of tension and insufficient building of scenes – highs, lows, turmoil, testing, redemption, discovery etc along the way. Also, some of the conversations between characters are really very long, for instance at the train station with Necdet Kent. This makes the screenplay quite laboured in places as it restates an impression or understanding that we have already obtained. Perhaps this is a result of the writer having a very clear vision in their mind as to how a scene ‘should’ look. I know that I sure am prone to that! Less focus on how the scene should ‘look’ and more on how it should ‘build’ would help. Instead of the writer thinking about what they want us to see, they could think more about what it is they want to make us feel. Because all that said, I think there is a great story in there waiting to be uncovered.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. katiedon says
    May 15, 2012, 2:35 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Not well written. Too much discription and somewhat confusing with all the flashbacks. The dialougue, for the most part, was poor. However, the story was interesting.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. mdub says
    April 19, 2012, 3:12 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I didnt have a chance to read whole thing. Rethink your logline, dont use names of actual characters in the log line

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.