Chasing Gray
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 4.0/5 (8 votes cast)

Chasing Gray

Army Captain Joshua Gutman is sidelined to a Washington think tank when a simple favor transforms into a battle against racism and time to save the life of a kidnapped college coed.

10 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of tsturm2010
    tsturm2010 says
    February 13, 2014, 5:26 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very well-written and well-paced. The writer clearly has a good sense of cinematic flow and opens right up with action. Exceptional grasp of realistic military/government reality, (down to those triangle conference call phones!) There are a few grammatical/formatting errors still in there (at one point Louise is mislabeled as Rebecca, and then Louis, which gets a bit confusing), and some of the action sequences may be a bit over-written–perhaps this writer is actually ex-military or police and may be a little too tuned in to those details. The racism angle is interesting but not really mind-blowing, as is the kidnapped college girl thing. Overall, an extremely well-written, well-executed script though maybe a story that has already been told in some form or another more than a few times.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of liapka
    liapka says
    February 2, 2014, 5:43 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I actually found the story very interesting and engaging from the beginning.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of kevinplewis
    January 19, 2014, 2:30 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Well written and well paced. Subject matter has been done to death.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. January 15, 2014, 9:32 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Is there a young Clint Eastwood out there looking for an Oscar? This film will be an easy route. With good dialogue, this anti-racism action film keeps you attention with suspense right to the end.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. January 14, 2014, 2:05 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Fascinated by the characters and their interactions. Loved the development of the settings.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of Argent
    Argent says
    July 15, 2013, 10:49 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The opening scene caught my attention. Then it seemed to lag a bit with too much dialogue. The suspense increased as more information was revealed. The knowledge of the Martial Arts was evident. Characters were well developed. The title is catchy & works for the portrait of racism in our society you wanted to convey in an honest, frank manor. Overall an interesting script that made a point & had enough action to keep your attention.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Ron-Weiss says
      July 27, 2013, 12:24 am

      Argent, thank you for taking the time to read my script. Thanks to SamF and Kman, too.

      I don’t want to play it safe when creating a story; nor do I want to be trendy. There is some old school in Chasing Gray; revealing character through dialogue instead of action. However I will work on reducing dialogue.

      I read a few of the other scripts in Contest# 2. To me, story matters above all. In fact, the most interesting ones I read were poorly written. Conversely, I read a script that was a terrific technical achievement but the story was empty. In my humble opinion scripts are not to be read but to be produced, directed and acted.

      I like what SamF wrote: I would enjoy watching this script come to life.

      I know someone in the film industry and he once sent me several scripts that were going into production. I was not impressed and found fault with most of them. I remember three of the “flawed” scripts very well. They became vehicles for Harrison Ford, Eddie Murphy and Steven Seagal.

      That was several years ago. I hope I’ve learned a few things since then.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
      Report user
      • September 3, 2013, 5:31 pm

        I agree with your sentiment in this statement exactly! I am an actor who is learning to write. So I write from a view point of “how will this look on a screen in hi-def?” When you look at it that way, many of the screenwriting “rules”, and writing rules in general go out the window. The script i wrote for this contest is in development now and I am trying to get it made with me attached as the lead. I can say first hand, from the old school: IT SUCKS TO HAVE TO TRIM YOUR DIALOG, and guess that happy medium of what you should put on the page and what should be left up to the actors, director and DP.

        I just downloaded your script and I am excited to jump into it this weekend.

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
        Report user
  7. Profile photo of SamF
    SamF says
    July 6, 2013, 1:31 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    First, kudos to a script that ends in Philadelphia.
    I had to think about it for a while then it hit me. Dirty Harry. Joshua Gutman is like Dirty Harry.
    Really good story and characters. The action keeps it moving but there is also thought and intelligence. A little bit of “good vs. evil” but handled realistically.
    Dialogue could be tweaked.
    Excellent vehicle for a perspective on racism. A little edgy, enough to start people thinking.
    I would enjoy watching this script come to life.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Profile photo of Kman
    Kman says
    May 26, 2013, 2:27 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    The script opens hard and tough and stays that way – doesn’t pull any punches.
    The writing style takes a while to get used to. But the characters and story are strong and compelling and drive you from one page to the next.
    The second half takes place in Philadelphia – nice touch.
    The plot is about a kidnapping but it’s also a story about racism – real, honest, unforgiving.
    Maybe a little too much dialogue.
    The ending is explosive then wraps up neatly.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.