Login Register
 
Email RSS Feed Twitter Facebook
Cemetery Plots
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.6/5 (6 votes cast)

Cemetery Plots

Three elderly and wealthy ladies each purchase two expensive cemetery plots. Years earlier, their husbands had disappeared in a plane crash. Their bodies were never found. The women don’t want to be buried alone. Thus begins their quest to find men willing to be buried next to them. However, problems arise, when soon after signing the agreement of burial, the men die. Eccentric police Lieutenant Horace Sleuthhammer begins an investigation.

7 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. katiedon says
    June 17, 2012, 10:48 am

    Thank you for your replies. I have now given the screenplay an alternate ending.
    The ladies turn out, to indeed, be murderers.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of peterfitz
    peterfitz says
    May 22, 2012, 1:33 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I enjoyed this. The dialogue in particular was clever, bubbled along and evoked vivid impressions of the characters (who were all charming). It was a nice story and had some very funny moments. However, I felt that the turning points in the story could be much more pronounced. Things seemed to happen and then resolve/dissolve without too much tension. I think the first turning point was the decision to buy the plots (or maybe it was to buy the two). This could be clearer and happen earlier in the screenplay leaving more pages to spend on the core of the story. An example – in the summary a key aspect of the story is that the fellows the ladies meet keep dying. But the first one doesn’t die until page 66. It is such a great hook and – I think at least – could be brought well forward so you can make the most of it on ensuing pages. Build the tension; build the drama; build on the whole crazy situation the girls have found themselves in. It would also allow more time to build relationships with the men that the girls invite to share the plots – the offers seemed too much out of the blue to be plausible. By contrast the girls obviously loved each other so much I kept wondering why they didn’t just chip in to get three plots and spend eternity lying next to their best mates/life-long companions rather than a bloke they’ve just met and know nothing about. But overall, these comments are made in the context of a screenplay I thoroughly enjoyed.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of abright
    abright says
    May 17, 2012, 8:27 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very cute story. I thought some of the action scenes were too long, like on page 45. And some didn’t really do anything except give direction, but overall really cute.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of salgal
    salgal says
    May 17, 2012, 3:22 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Nice idea. Too predictable.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. katiedon says
    May 15, 2012, 2:22 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Interesting and real life characters, Interesting read, it would make an amusing movie. A story with an unexpected and good twist for an ending.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. rffischer says
    May 15, 2012, 2:18 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Interesting concept. The three main characters reminded of something like the Golden Girls and it was quite funny. It has a good ending, but something seemed to be missing. Loved the Lieutenant, he was a good match for Gladys.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. rickemg says
    May 9, 2012, 2:15 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I enjoyed this story. Gladys reminds me of a neighbor that I had in Colorado. I got the jest of each character and thought that they could have been stronger but overall I pictured them. However, I didn’t care for the ending. It kind of just ended, nothing to write home to about. I imagined an ending like the Lieutenant finding out about the third guy dying by accident and the epilogue tells of how the three were witches and the gravesites had to do with an “Eternity Spell”.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.