Casual Happenstance More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.7/5 (6 votes cast)

Casual Happenstance

Heather Sparks, a San Francisco based psychic, looses her job at a metaphysical bookstore and auditions for a trashy local late night show hosted by a desperate former soap opera actress loosing ratings. Complications erupt as her skills are misused for the show’s yellow press styled celebrity gossip approach. Gaining a reputation as a the national enquirer of TV psychics, Heather confronts her calling, her relationships and a media circus.

6 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Salena17 says
    September 29, 2016, 3:45 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Good

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of
    says
    October 14, 2014, 5:24 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    While there are not enough female protagonists in films, Casual Happenstance offers a variety of memorable female characters. Kudos for creating original characters that an audience will delight in.

    I believe the script would benefit from some tightening. At 123 pages, it is a bit long for a comedy. There are some instances where the flow comes to a halt, for example on page 63: A waiter is introduced… brings tea… even has a couple of lines. Necessary? I think not. That waiter does nothing to progress your story; on the contrary, the waiter is a speed bump. Look for other cases like that that slow the flow.

    Overall, a tremendously enjoyable effort! Good luck!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Theonedue says
    September 10, 2014, 2:10 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This is a good comedy soap that would be particularly funny to a female audience. With a lot of the cast being female, and with all of the fantasy scenarios that have a romantic tinge to them, you have a good film that women (especially older ones) will get a kick out of. There were some funny lines in here. I’m sure a director would love the shoot this.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of Raffiki
    Raffiki says
    September 8, 2014, 3:58 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A good, quick read and I agree with TGVSpeed but not the scoring. I see a series here, and a good one.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of Filmstar22
    Filmstar22 says
    August 17, 2014, 2:08 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I have to agree with TGVSpeed about this script, it is so funny! This one is a definite MUST READ!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  6. TGVSpeed says
    August 17, 2014, 11:58 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Uproariously funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This film has the makings of a hilarious series. In the same way ‘Orange is the New Black’ has taken hold, this story, properly stretched and scripted, would be wildly entertaining and a great platform for new talent.

    I am still laughing at many of the zany issues that came up for the main character and everything they went through while attempting to maintain some semblance of a life. The settings were also perfect as I was immediately drawn in to the interesting, yet simple lifestyles of the people. I am not a comedic writer by any means and I have to tell you I am still somewhat heaving chuckles thinking about how well you wrote this.

    It’s a real pleasure to read a script that is funny AND insightful, where the writer was clearly not over-reaching or trying to be funny. You trusted the process and allowed the story to come to you, which shows the mark of a great writer. I will likely read this script a second time as I have enjoyed it immensely and will definitely share this with my agent.

    Hilarious.

    Well done!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.