Black Bubble
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.4/5 (8 votes cast)

Black Bubble

This is the story of Sean Boyle, a thirty-year-old unemployed journalist with a hidden past as an adolescent writer. He’s going through a romantic crisis with his girlfriend, a career woman whose biological clock is ticking down to the hour when she’ll have to make a fateful choice if Sean doesn’t find his place in society.

The story of a romantic crisis told through a journalist’s professional experience working in a mysterious land over the Border, where a colorful event organizer is trying to organize a grand event to wake up the local population.

10 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    May 4, 2012, 11:37 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Confusing and hard to keep up with the story. Lots of formatting mistakes! Needs a lot more love.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. mdub says
    April 18, 2012, 8:01 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Format:p

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. rickemg says
    April 4, 2012, 1:21 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I found it a little hard to follow. The formating isn’t the norm, but you can see the story unfold. The read was quick and I did enjoy the story even with the poor structure. Looking forward to other works after this. KEEP IT UP.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of tdogg
    tdogg says
    March 22, 2012, 12:09 am

    Writing seemed a bit amateur, a lot of formatting mistakes, and the story was a bit all over the place, but it was a quick read at least.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of jetski
    jetski says
    March 20, 2012, 6:35 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    If done right, it couls be a good movie.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  6. Walter Lancesi says
    March 19, 2012, 10:45 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Sorry, i forgot stars…

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Profile photo of filmnerd74
    filmnerd74 says
    March 17, 2012, 10:40 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    What struck me first off on page one was the lack of simple proper formatting in this script. In fact, my first “oh, boy, amateur alert” went off on the cover page when I saw the fancy font. And then, they just kept coming – to see the character names bolded, the spacing not standard, and little things like having the page number at the bottom as well as the title on every single page. I don’t even know where you got the idea to number the scenes. I have never seen that in a spec script before. There’s plenty of literature out there on proper script formatting and it would be well worth your time to get the basics down, otherwise anyone with any professionalism who reads it, is not likely to get past a few pages.

    The whole border thing confused me and was never set up in a clear way. And why were people falling asleep? That was never really explained in a believable way…
    The world you set up is cooky and quirky but falls short. Either bring it back to reality or go over-the-top with this wacky style.

    The characters were not intriguing, I did not care for any one of them, and there were far too many minor characters. Sean is not a protagonist I would want to follow. He’s so dull and passionless. He has no real worthy goal to root for, no stakes involved. Thus, no driving story. Truth is a useless character for the whole first half and the vignettes that tell his backstory slow everything down and don’t add anything to the story. Felicity seems completely unreal and unlikeable. And then at the end when Sean gets back with her instead of Susan, I really didn’t like him.

    There is too much VO in the dialogue in general.

    There is a heavy use of unfilmables in the description. Here is just one example: “Mary Ann, meanwhile, is filming the whole scene to post it on YouTube later.” Yes, we can see she is filming, but how the hell are we supposed to know that she will post it to YouTube later just by seeing that? Only write what is seen and heard on the screen. Action paragraphs generally run way too long – keep them at no more than 3-4 lines.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
    • Massimo Borghi says
      March 18, 2012, 4:32 pm

      Very nice you have read all my script, thank you! But i think i do not deserve so many stars…..

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Walter Lancesi says
    March 15, 2012, 4:06 pm

    Beautiful visionary script…..

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  9. Profile photo of massibor
    massibor says
    March 15, 2012, 1:42 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Great script, visionary concept, funny characters. I see Black Bubble has been written with honest and absolute passion. Producers and film directors would define it completely free and out of common mentality.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.