Ballad of a Nobody
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.3/5 (13 votes cast)

Ballad of a Nobody

Fed up with the lack of excitement in his life, Jack Siegel, a small town reporter starts creating his own excitement with a little help from a mask and a camera.

13 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of
    says
    January 31, 2016, 8:32 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Clear logline; but it needs a twist/complication.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Profile photo of ecthommo
    ecthommo says
    July 27, 2014, 8:24 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    In writing a logline, you’re on the right track. The way you write the logline shows that you understand how a logline should be written. I’m not so sure if I’d be interested in reading this though; a mask and a camera for excitement doesn’t appeal to me; it gives me the impression that the person would be taking pictures of people who don’t want their pictures to be taken, as a result that’s why he’s using the mask.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. scripted says
    August 15, 2013, 10:27 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Good concept though, might be meet up with targeted audience

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. belw says
    July 11, 2013, 8:18 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    this sounds like it could be fun

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of
    says
    July 1, 2013, 10:08 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I think you need a comma after the word reporter. Also, if the genre wasn’t indicated, I might think this was a horror film. You may want to change the logline to make sure someone reading it knows what kind of film you’re pitching.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Profile photo of
    says
    April 21, 2013, 7:54 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I could read the screenplay but would expect a lot from it.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Profile photo of WritterL86
    WritterL86 says
    March 30, 2013, 12:58 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Good story, shows potential.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Profile photo of G-rad
    G-rad says
    January 31, 2013, 1:43 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I’m curious to see what this excitement he is going to create.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. mikeyz says
    October 30, 2012, 9:28 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Great idea – you leave me wanting to find out how exactly the “mask and camera” come into play! I agree though that perhaps a more descriptive term other than “excitement” could be used — plus, you’ve used that expression twice in just the one sentence.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Profile photo of
    says
    October 25, 2012, 4:13 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I like the concept. Sounds like Kick-Ass.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Profile photo of johnnymiller
    September 20, 2012, 7:05 pm
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Lots of comedy potential. I like it. Hopefully you’re working hard on that script.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. Profile photo of PaulAndy
    PaulAndy says
    September 17, 2012, 4:37 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    I'm not sure about this. The logline needs something to happen, instead of "Decides to make". Give us something more because the logline starts off very well.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. rickemg says
    September 11, 2012, 11:12 am
    Overall
    Story Potential
    Hook

    Good concept. There’s some good potential also. The logline needs a little more data like what excitment, who’s the protagonist ….. etc. I can see the references you’re using as a view into your story but still want more info.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.