April’s Fool More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 3.6/5 (27 votes cast)

April’s Fool

When oh-so-serious BRETT goes head-to-head with his prankster half-brother TODD for their father’s gag toy factory and for the heart of the same woman, all is fair in love and toys, UNTIL a sweet dose of sibling competition takes a sour turn and Brett must struggle to keep order.

37 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of brinnimarcus
    January 31, 2013, 11:50 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I read this some time back and I still love it!! One of your best screenplays. I know it will go far!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of nutty
    nutty says
    January 31, 2013, 11:49 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    😛

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of ikadana
    ikadana says
    January 31, 2013, 9:32 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Funny, tight, polished, well-structured, well-formatted, easy to read, humorous characters!
    It was an easy read and one of the best scripts in the competition! I would def wanna see it getting made! Keep up the good work and I would love to read some of your other scripts.
    I like your style and your imagination. We see today a lot of action packed movies and it was great reading a fresh piece. I sent it around to my colleagues to get their review and comments.
    best of luck!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of ivorweiner
    ivorweiner says
    January 31, 2013, 4:37 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I enjoyed this script and can really see it’s commercial appeal. The writing is tight and original. The characters were well-developed with good dynamics among the crew. I can see many different actors being attracted to this ensemble cast.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  5. January 31, 2013, 3:28 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I have to admit…I didn’t get to the end. Needs some work, plus the humor just wasn’t there.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  6. January 31, 2013, 3:24 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Honestly not my thing. I think it needs some more work and definitely some character development.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  7. Profile photo of 747russell
    747russell says
    January 31, 2013, 5:05 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    needs tweaking

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  8. January 31, 2013, 5:02 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of bobsaget
    bobsaget says
    January 31, 2013, 3:56 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I’m Bob Saget and this script needs more Bob Saget. Those who do not agree are not Bob Saget.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  10. January 31, 2013, 3:52 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  11. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    January 30, 2013, 9:53 pm

    Ratings

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  12. Profile photo of yoyo
    yoyo says
    January 29, 2013, 8:31 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    cool concept

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    Report user
  13. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    January 29, 2013, 7:58 pm

    why aren’t my ratings showing up?

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  14. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    January 29, 2013, 7:56 pm

    nice

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  15. Profile photo of uconcerto
    uconcerto says
    January 23, 2013, 5:27 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    here is my vote for the April’s fool , hope to see it in teaters !!!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  16. Profile photo of
    says
    January 11, 2013, 9:56 am

    I guess, I’m lost for comedy: I had to stop reading the script at p. 35. Certainly the scenario with the two half brothers competing for the factory has potential, but I didn’t find anything else to persuade myself to read on: I found the jokes to be superficial and not at all funny, the characters (up to p. 35) exaggerated and stereotypical.
    Won’t vote as I didn’t read the entire script, though. Sorry, but as I said, this is my genre at all.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    January 10, 2013, 9:05 pm

    nice work!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  18. Profile photo of
    says
    December 31, 2012, 3:01 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Didn’t find the humour in it.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  19. Profile photo of
    says
    July 11, 2012, 10:35 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I see this as a very funny movie!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  20. Profile photo of granix
    granix says
    May 4, 2012, 11:34 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    One of the funniest ive read in a long time…a fun light movie!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  21. john1988d says
    April 19, 2012, 4:58 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very interesting concept, I liked Todd, picturing him played by a Jack Black type. Good work!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  22. Profile photo of oliviaross
    oliviaross says
    April 18, 2012, 10:26 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I am really not sure why so many people like this script.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  23. mdub says
    April 18, 2012, 7:57 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Cool

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  24. rickemg says
    April 9, 2012, 12:15 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I forgot to vote, so here it is.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  25. rickemg says
    March 29, 2012, 6:31 pm

    The characters were well written. The ending with Frank and the bird, a good touch. The ulitmate joke on his sons and their mothers was unique in this genre I thought. Over all the story read well and I think that the cost of production for a story like this is minimal, making it a possible short ride up the pole.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  26. March 26, 2012, 5:28 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I thought this was a clever, original idea, though at times I found the jokes too much, and it wasn’t clear to me whether Frank really did die at the end of the script, which I think would be unfunny and a bit too serious for a comedy script. I thought the switch at the end humorous, but it seemed like there should have been some more discussion or reaction to this, since this is a major change which gets treated on the same level as the other jokes. Nice change to see Brett loosen up at the end. One thing I wasn’t clear about in answering the questions is whether Frank is to be considered a main character and whether he really dies at the end. I treated him as not the main character in answering the questions, considering Brett and Todd the main characters, but if he was the main character, my validation questions would be wrong.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  27. Profile photo of author6060
    author6060 says
    March 22, 2012, 3:33 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very enjoyable to read and easy to visualize. Loved the characters. Great script!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  28. Profile photo of tdogg
    tdogg says
    March 22, 2012, 12:12 am

    Great premise, funny characters, good character development, original concept, great script for Vince Vaugn

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  29. suzanne says
    March 19, 2012, 9:34 pm

    very humorous and fast paced!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  30. yarin says
    March 19, 2012, 7:04 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    funny!! love the concept!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  31. brian says
    March 18, 2012, 7:47 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    I laughed out loud so many times! It is a really heartwarming comedy!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  32. Tessa says
    March 16, 2012, 10:05 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Great!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  33. March 16, 2012, 10:05 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Really original screenplay – funny, innovative and well-written

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  34. meg says
    March 16, 2012, 9:53 pm

    You’re an inspiration!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  35. Alex says
    March 16, 2012, 9:52 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    This is such a wonderful script idea!! Hope to see it on the silver screen!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  36. megan says
    March 16, 2012, 9:52 pm

    wonderful!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  37. Lauren says
    March 16, 2012, 9:27 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Great concept – definitely a movie!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.