ANDY THE ANDROID More Images
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Concept
Story Structure
Character
Dialogue
Grammar
Budget (1-Low / 5-High)
Rating: 4.1/5 (5 votes cast)

ANDY THE ANDROID

A teen boy reunites with his distant father in an underground futuristic-like city only to have to team up with the other teenagers there to save his dad and stop a villain using an army of androids as his soldiers of mass destruction to take over the country.

6 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. roknsrf says
    February 15, 2015, 1:40 am
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Very imaginative and full of great ideas that work for the first half, but then the whole story unravels in the end. The attention to detail and crisp interaction of the characters that make the first act so good just seem to vanish in the chaos of the last half of the script. I was really bummed because it held such great promise, that after the first hour, I was saying to myself that this is by far the best screenplay I have read out of the dozens I reviewed in this contest, but then the script went haywire. The dialogue which was not great but holding steady at 4 stars for me through the first half also started to fall well below the standard already set by the writer. And although I have seen similar formatting, (i.e Avatar, I am Robot, etc) this script makes way too many errors trying to emulate that style of screenwriting. This script has major potential, but it also has major flaws. And due to the big budget it will take to make it, I fell it needs a lot more work if it’s ever going to get picked up by a major production company.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of Scriptmylife
    January 29, 2015, 8:21 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    A fun and imaginative script, full of high tech science-fiction and interesting characters. The beginning is a bit discombobulating for me, but once we get to the underground city everything becomes much more cohesive. The characters, especially the kids and Andy, and their dynamic is fun to see grow in this insular society, though from time to time I wish the parents were given a little more definition. The climax is exciting and very high energy, but there is so much going on, that it can get confusing spatially at times. It is a difficult transition to make, from the self-sustained underground city where locations are limited, to the outside world where anything can happen, and anywhere. Overall though, the concept is a solid one, and fits right in to the kid and robot/alien niche genre that we all know and love.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. DevilDog says
    January 8, 2015, 4:55 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Normally, I like to start off with things I like; however this script has a lot of things that I feel should be addressed so I’ll get right to it.
    Right off the bat, there are so many things that are confusing about this script. Example: right from the get go on page 2, you abandoned structure all-together. Your scene headings fell apart as early as page 2 and continued to confuse on every other page. The punctuation within the script was way too excessive. Exclamation points everywhere!!! And mostly when they didn’t need to be, or shouldn’t be. The script also had an excessive use of ellipses…everywhere.
    Both of those punctuation’s should rarely be used in a script, (like once), if at all. You also had many moments where in an Action Sequence, you dropped off the sentence without a period, and segued into a Scene Heading improperly. It made the story difficult to follow and I found myself reading 1-2 pages and having to remember or guess about (where) the characters were.
    This story was creative and visual with effects and action that normally would interest any audience; however, the format and confusion in how it was written made the creative world hard to believe because of all the “JUST THEN–“, “JUST WHEN–“, “THEN–“.

    From page 49 through 61, I was at a loss with everything. I didn’t know where the story was taking place. The grammar, punctuation, underlining, lack of scene headings’, improper action formats made me lose interest in all that was going on.

    The characters themselves were very interesting and amusing. I felt as if (WOLF) was the egotistical, lunatic, antagonist and couldn’t help but compare him to our present “POTUS” as his character arc revealed. PT51 also reminded me of our present Homeland Security. And last but not least, I couldn’t help myself from picturing Secretary of Defense John Kerry as “Knox”. Even your description of him as a politician was right on.

    All in all, you have an extraordinary ability to imagine and tell a story. I believe running this script through as many people as you can and finding all the typos and mistakes will be well worth the money that purchasing screenplay coverage is going to be the best return on your investment. Your story will no doubt attract top talent, as your story is no doubt fun in action and adventure. The futuristic approach to our world is awesome. But even a spectacular screenplay must first be re-written. This is not to offend you in any way, I truly believe that you have something here special; it just needs a ton of cleaning up.

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
    • January 9, 2015, 2:56 pm

      no worries. :)

      Those were all artistic choices by me, “typos” and “mistakes”. The dropping of punctuation even. This script was rewritten countless times. Rewriting is writing. The lack of slug lines once the story takes place underground and resume slug lines when they’re above ground was also planned.

      I didn’t just throw this script together. so much for that MFA.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
  4. January 6, 2015, 3:04 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Great world building

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. January 5, 2015, 11:18 pm
    Overall
    Concept
    Story Structure
    Character
    Dialogue
    Grammar
    Budget (1-Low / 5-High)

    Amazing! Great Script!

    VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.