9 Strong
User Rating:
VN:RO [1.9.17_1161]
Overall
Story Potential
Hook
Rating: 3.2/5 (5 votes cast)

9 Strong

Baseball team in impoverished city play with only 9 due to suspensions, shooting deaths, and injuries. They overcome obstacles and makes playoffs.

    6 Comments

    Leave A Reply
    1. Dartistman says
      January 24, 2016, 4:52 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      nice

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    2. ebabe says
      November 1, 2015, 4:08 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      Nothing like a good baseball story. Good idea for this one.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    3. June 7, 2015, 2:02 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      Mike: I like your story. Try this for a logline: An inner-city baseball team is forced to field eight players instead of nine, and must find a way to overcome the league rule of nine players, themselves and their coach, in order to make the playoffs.

      You have an opportunity to put some humor into this drama. What if they dress a blow-up doll in a uniform and put it in right field as the ninth player? The possibilities are endless – how do they sneak the doll onto the field? What if some of the players go bat shit over the doll idea? What if they “party” with the doll because all the players were invited to a dinner at the coach’s house?

      Just food for thought and good luck. I think you’re on to something with this story.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    4. Profile photo of williamhproductions@gmail.com
      April 22, 2015, 9:49 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      Not bad.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    5. Profile photo of Elijahd
      Elijahd says
      April 19, 2015, 4:46 pm
      Overall
      Story Potential
      Hook

      Really great idea

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user
    6. Profile photo of RutgerOosterhoff
      April 11, 2015, 4:32 am

      Hey Mike,

      Not bad, but now you only give me the stories ‘ thresholds’ (=obstacles) ; “shooting deaths, and injuries. They overcome obstacles”.

      Give me a tormented super hero protag, a clear and mean antag, higher stakes, and a hook.. Until now You only described a situation.

      So if you make your title 9 strong I would think – as someone who does not know much about baseball – ‘normally’ they play with 10 players (defense/offence), but standardly they play with 9?!

      Make your title: 8 Strong or b8seball heroes. They lose 3 players due to “suspensions, shooting deaths, and injuries” but get 2 back on the team; one –ok- but a super-fast runner (ex sprint champion that got depressed) but isn’t a real team player, one is the protag of this story – a super baseball hero, who will ‘ Re-create’ this team in his ‘own’ image (like all baseball movies do) give me the same thing only different!!)

      Now they will do the impossible (=stakes) win the X league with one man less (or must I say 2 man more)

      8 Strong, instead of weak.

      The hook often is people bribing or blackmailing the mean character. Make him a 3+ hitting machine that got kicked out of the major league because of an alcohol problem, does not want to go back to playing baseball EVER AGAIN until he finds out the new partner of his ex-girlfriend (he lost because of his alcohol problem) he still loves dearly plays in the same team.
      Even higher stakes now.

      Of course the two can’t get along of the field, but can they ‘learn’ (character grows) to get along ‘on’ the field and fight their battle ( big part of second act) in private

      And yes, the manager – ‘only’ wanting the best for his team – also tries to fuck up things. Stakes even higher.

      I’s all not very original, ‘maar dat is mijn twee cent’

      After I read the revised logline – taken (some of these ) things into consideration – I will rate your logline.

      Good luck!!

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Report user

    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.